Customer reviews for Saeco Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Philips.

Saeco Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black

Saeco Odea espresso machines offer you great tasting espresso from your favorite coffee beans with the touch of a single button.
Overall rating:
4.467 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15100%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Review 1 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From:Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes an excellent Latte and is easy to use

Posted12 November 2013
This was a replacement for a failed unit that was possessed
We are now pleasantly surprised, it is the best.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
Andre
From:Carlsbad, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice upgrade from the Odea Go

Posted13 September 2013
We had an Odea Go for about 4 years. When it died we replaced it with the Giro Plus. This machine is quieter than the Go, which is nice, and another nice feature is that it has a brew strength button that allows you to brew mild, medium or strong. My only complaint is there really isn't that much difference between mild and medium. The coffee we get from this machine is definitely stronger than we got from the Go, and my wife wishes it was a little weaker. I also notice we're going thru a lot more beans with this one vs. the Go, which is another indicator of the coffee strength.
Prosquieter than the odea go
Consthe "mild" setting isn't very mild
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
Doubleshot
From:Los Angeles CA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why spend more for a home auto machine?

Posted8 September 2013
Love this machine and you can't beat the price. I had the predecessor to this machine and it lasted 5 full years. Here is hoping this one does as well.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
Bill59
From:Lake City, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

makes great coffee but a little afraid of how its made.

Posted25 August 2013
The coffee and espresso tastes great! The machine itself is kind of has great thought but is feels like it will break down at any time. All the parts are plastic and over time I feel think the machine will break down plastic never seems to last as long as metal components.
Prosgreat tasting coffee and espresso
Consto much plastic parts
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
dlugoan
From:Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

performance is great, time will tell on reliability

Posted12 August 2013
This is our second Saeco in the Odea line. The first one was the "Go" version. we loved that machine but it did not last as long as we would have liked - it experienced internal leakage near the steam control valve which eventually ruined the electronics. We like the improvements in the current Giro version - such as the ability to control the amount of coffee AND the volume of water. We also like the ability to go quickly from frothing milk to brewing coffee instead of having to wait for the water temperature to increase or decrease (as appropriate) in the "Go" version. It is a handsome machine, looks great on the countertop, our friends also like the look and functionality- and especially the quality of the coffee it produces.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
Davof
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coffee - easy to use

Posted15 July 2013
Really enjoy this machine. A little finicky but worth the trouble
Proseasy to use, great coffee
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
Italiano13
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Improved design over previous machine

Posted8 July 2013
Happy with the improved design, and adjustable shelf. I would have licked a larger water reservoir, and a clear"window" to the water level.
Prosquieter than older model
Consreservoir for all is small
Yes, I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
Roger13
From:Boulder, CO, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but a little finicky

Posted2 July 2013
Very easy to use, but needs frequent emptying of dreg and overflow drawer and a larger water reservoir would be nice. But it makes excellent espresso and latte and has very easy to use controls.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
jujuju
From:Oakland
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice coffee machine

Posted28 June 2013
This is my first real espresso machine, and I love it. The warnings always make sense (something is empty or full), and everything works. I like how compact the machine is, and the small wheels on the base are really practical. My friends definitely were impressed by it.
Prosdesign, ease of use, speed, and the quality of the espresso
Consnothing
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
TaiwanTim
From:Utica, NE 68456, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Coffee That Requires Some Supervision

Posted27 June 2013
The Odea Giro Plus makes good espresso with the coffee beans of your choice and significant conveniences. If you're looking for a good espresso machine for the home, you should consider the Odea Giro Plus. However, I can not yet attest to it's durability, because I have only used mine for two weeks.
This review will be most useful to people who like black coffee. I have no opinion about the frother. I never make latte, cappuccino or flavored coffee of any kind. I never put sugar in coffee either.
I like coffee flavored coffee, period.
I enjoy all kinds of black coffee that deliver caffeine; instant, truck stop, percolator, filter, capsules (like K-cups), chain store, whatever. But, I love espresso. Espresso delivers all the caffeine with twice the flavor of drip filter or capsules and the addition of the creamy textures make it one of life's pleasures.
The Odea Giro Plus is better than either capsules or chain store coffee because you can use better coffee beans, and given the high prices of capsules and chain store espresso, the Odea delivers good value (though that depends on the price you pay for the unit, I'm very satisfied with the price I got). Capsules and chain stores strive for consistent mediocrity, you can use the best gourmet coffee in the Odea.
The Odea lets you adjust the strength and dilution of the coffee all the way from a demitasse of concentrated pleasure to a diluted Caffe Americano for the road. If you have a family of varying tastes, the Odea can deliver.
The main quirk of the Odea, is the the capacities are not big. The beans in the bean hopper will last four or five days, the water must be replenished every day (at least). The red warning light comes on quite often, because the internal drip tray fills up pretty fast. The internal drip tray and the water tank can be a little difficult to put back in place. If you are the kind of person who tries to force together parts that don't quite fit, you could wind up damaging the unit.
But, those quirks are a small price to pay, when one considers how much more convenient the Odea is compared to manual espresso. Although I enjoy the manual espresso rituals of grinding, spooning, tamping, wiping up, my wife does not. Plus, this espresso is just as good as the manual kind, but it takes a quarter of the amount of time to get it in the mug. Yes, unlike most manual espresso machines, I can dispense the espresso right into my travel mug, for the road.
I like my Odea Giro Plus and it is worth the money I paid ... go for it!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
Doti
From:LA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very convinient to start the day with a good coffe

Posted27 June 2013
Hard to clean the sharp corners of the used coffe bins either from the coffe or the access water
Prosready stand by
Conshard to clean
Yes, I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
Anth
From:Michigan, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent machine for the money

Posted27 June 2013
I bought this machine to replace a Nespresso that I was not happy with. This machine is easy to use and make consistant great espresso
Coffee beans beat capsules every time.
Proshot every time, uses coffee beans, easy to use and cleant
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
Outdors1
From:Richmond, VA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You get what you pay for. This makes incredible coffee and Lattés. It's a finicky at first, probably a week of it self adjusting w/alerts going off

Posted21 June 2013
I think it will be great. Coffee tastes great and the crema on espresso is incredible. Very easy to use. But the cover on steamer wand has gone missing and replacement is expensive. So sad.
It does spend a couple days auto adjusting the grind and the sensors are too sensitive at first. Just empty everything and clean the brew group each day at first then it will do well on its own with only weekly rinse of brew group.
Prosease of use, incredible crema
Conssensors too sensitive at first
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
Jack52
From:Jessup, MD, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good coffee, easy to use

Posted18 June 2013
Makes excellent coffee, although the crema could be a bit thicker. Only complaint is that the water bin is overly resistant to being removed, which may ease after break-in.
Prosexcellent coffee
Consbalky water bin
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Saeco Odea Super-automatic espresso machine RI9755/47 Classic Milk Frother Black
Customer avatar
Ba43
From:Pa
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

Posted18 June 2012
The only thing I don't like is the center dial for amount for cup size
Adjustment is so precise that if you move it just a small amount
You get too much or to little coffee that's all I don't like
Prosease of use
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.