Customer reviews for Philips Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button

Philips Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button

This powerful stubble and beard trimmer delivers superior trimming performance. The stubble comb has been specially designed to create the perfect stubble. The integrated vacuum system captures hairs for less mess guaranteed.
Overall rating:
4.017 / 5
4
 / 
5
(171 reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 171 reviews
5 Stars
93
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
10
1 Star
17
128 out of 16379%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Review 1 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Parts

Posted7 November 2013
I currently own this trimmer and the plastic Guard broke I called Philips to buy a replacement guard but they do not have have any parts for this trimmer Why would you buy a product that has no support. Now I have to go out and buy a brand new trimmer b/c they do not have the part This does not make any sense to me and I will never buy a philips product again
Consno parts
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK trimmer, cheap materials

Posted5 January 2013
Trimmer is 3 out of 5. Unfortunately like most things these days, the materials and design is pretty cheap. I'd gladly pay 2x for a quality product. I had the prior generation of this product and while the QT4070/41 is definitely an improvement, its still not great. My prior Norelco beard trimmer had some issues (as well as a couple items breaking because it was cheap) so I was a bit reluctant buying another Philips Norelco.
Some positives is that this new one has a much better guide height adjuster - it stays in place where as the old trimmer wouldn't hold position. The height indicator display and battery level displays are also a real nice improvement. I charge the unit after every couple of shaves and have no issues with battery with this type of usage. I always use the "turbo" mode when shaving.
The vacuum is so-so. The prior model definitely did a better job at hair collection - it was actually pretty impressive how much it would collect (i'd say 98%+; there were very minimal hairs that would fall into the sink). The new model captures about 85-90% and definitely creates a bit of a mess vs. the old model. Its still nice to have the vac; its not a novelty but it doesn't work as good as I'd like. The blades are also just so-so.
Some negatives are that the height guide has quite a bit of flex. I've noticed that you do have to be careful about not pressing too hard - otherwise you'll get varying hair lengths. But by far the biggest negative is the overall cheap-ness of the product. Blades are thin stamped metal. And after 1 month (6 uses) the hair chamber door latch broke. To me its a sign overall [lack of] quality.
This trimmer appeared to be the best one I could find in the store and its sad that its only just "average".-+
Prosheight adjustment works well, height indicator very useful, battery level indicator useful
Conscheap build/materials, some flex in the blade guide
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:San Francisco, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly designed trim level guide

Posted9 November 2012
This is a horribly designed razor. I bought it as an old beard trimmer had finally died, and I needed a new one. I was excited about the vacuum as I typically hold a small trash can under my chin to minimize the mess. The vacuum works ok, but not well enough to catch everything. I have trimmed without the trash can and had a mess on the floor. It did suck in a lot of the trimmed hairs, but if it's not a 100%, then it's just novel.
The biggest issue with the design of this beard trimmer though is in the design of the measured guide that holds your face at a measured distance from the blades. If you look close at the picture, you'll notice it is set back from the blades (hard to describe, so look at the picture). Normally, the guide covers the blades in such a way that no matter the angle of the razor against your face, the distance remains measured. What happens with this razor is that if you lean it forward to much, the blades go straight to your face and you shave all the way to your skin. So, as you go around your chin and in many other places, it's easy to slip and catch an angle that cuts shorter than you intended. For this, the razor is a total fail in my opinion and has to go back to the design block. I'm really surprised that it made it to production.
Net net, don't buy. Pick another one and keep a close eye on this design issue.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Riverside, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flaw in the comb

Posted21 March 2012
There is one significant design flaw in the QT4070. The adjustable setting guard for length the comb has an open slot in it And if you were to apply the littlest amount of pressure on your face while shaving the trimmer will not cut your facial evenly. I ended up with a large bald patch on my beard and was forced to shave completely
Conscomb
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:New York
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Door broke - hair everywhere - T980 was superior

Posted30 November 2014
I loved the T980 and I chose the QT4070/71 as it was the successor. The door clasp broke and now when I shave, hair goes everywhere, everything else is fine with the razor. I am disappointed and have to decide if, after being a long term customer, I should purchase a different brand.
Prosit does a very good job
Consdoor doesn't stay closed; hair goes everywhere
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Rochester, NY
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Latch keeps breaking, only lasts 6 months.

Posted21 October 2013
I've had two of these now, and each one had a broken latch after 6-8 months. It makes operation very difficult and results in trimmings going everywhere. Otherwise, it is a great trimmer.
Prosgood design, great battery life
Conslow quality parts, plastic breaks
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Response from PhilipsBy KJPhilips Webcare Team22 October 2013
Hello, we are disappointed to hear that your Trimmer’s latch was broken in just 6 months of use and completely understand your concern. We are pleased to advise that it does come with a 2 year warranty, so, we would request you to provide more details regarding this product to our consumer care team on the following link: http://www.support.philips.com/supp... and then they will be happy to look into this for you. Thank you.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Evansville, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New doesn't mean better

Posted25 January 2012
I had the previous model and loved the trimmer and used it every day for years, but when it finally wore out I purchased this model. Ever since day one I have hated this trimmer. It does not cut very good, the vacuum isn't very effective, and the blades are anything but maintanence free. I understand oil may be needed occasionally but I have to use it numerous times per use just to trim up my stubble otherwise it will stop the blades and yank my hair out. Also the display is completely junk and lasted approx. 1-2 months. With it set at the lowest setting the display is showing ~14-17mm length. There are not a lot of options in this market which is a shame because I can not stress enough to stay away from this model.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Doesn't Deliver Fully on its Greatest Strength

Posted20 March 2014
The latch on the door will ALWAYS break!
I'm on my third Beardtrimmer with built in vacuum. Great at catching hair, keeping my sink clean and my wife sane. They did everything right by putting together all of these great features, but the diminutive latch on the door that keeps all the hair in one place, KEEPS BREAKING.
Jeez guys, get this right or come up with a replacement part.
I work with Industrial Designers all of the time and this would be an embarrassment to them.
Prosdelivers on its great features
Conshardware design - poor latch
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Las Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Inconsistent trim

Posted8 December 2011
Because the guard is open to the blade, it is hard to get a consistent trim with it, especially when working over sharp curves of the jaw and chin.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor design

Posted5 December 2011
There is one significant design flaw in the QT4070. The adjustable setting guard for length has a separation in the blades. And if you were to apply the littlest amount of pressure on your face while shaving the trimmer will not cut your facial evenly. I ended up with a large bald patch on my beard and was forced to shave completely. FAIL
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Ontario, CA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Loose door

Posted9 June 2014
A couple months after I bought this, the hair-collection compartment door became loose and started randomly opening while I was shaving, sending hairs on to the counter and floor. Philips kindly replaced the defective shaver.
The replacement lasted much longer, but now the compartment door is loose again and sending hairs back to the counter and floor...and the unit is out of warranty. It's a design defect, and based on my experience and that of other reviewers, it'll probably happen to you too.
Time for that rubber band my asparagus-eating colleague recommends below...
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Response from PhilipsBy JAPhilips Webcare10 June 2014
We’re sorry to hear you’ve had a disappointing experience with our Philips Norelco Beardtrimmer. For such instance we would recommend you that you contact our local Consumer Care by accessing the following link: http://bit.ly/1hEtQGa. Thanks.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Saint Paul, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Trimmer length adjustment broke within first week.

Posted16 April 2013
Trimmer length adjustment broke within first week of use, can be used only as an electric shaver -- in other words, useless.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Dallas, TX
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Did not cut close enough to get stubble

Posted12 October 2011
I would describe this as just a beard trimmer and not a stubble trimmer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Corona, CA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broken Door Latch

Posted4 December 2013
The small clip that keeps the door latch closed broke, just like it did to countless others in these reviews. They don't have a replacement part either, so once it breaks you're stuck with it. The warranty won't help you.
I've used Philips beard trimmers for over 10 years and I've had really good luck with them, but I wouldn't recommend this model.
Consthe door latch will break
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Williamsburg, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is no where near the previous trimmer I replaced.

Posted13 October 2013
If I had any idea this trimmer would be as bad as it is I wouldn't have touched it with a 10 foot pole. My broken Acu-Control T900 is better broken than this one is new.
Prosit's shiny.
Consthe vacuum glogs at the drop of a hat., turbo boost has to be use to trim the first time., no edging capability.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Davenport, IA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do your homework.

Posted9 August 2013
On the page before this one is a picture of a trimmer which seems to have the head of the QT4050 and the body with multifunctional display of the QT4070. This trimmer is not on this site. This hybrid of the best of both worlds would be the QT4090. So far not sold in the U.S. and apparently only in Europe. What does it say about the design of the QT4070s head when it is immediately dumped in favor of the design of the QT4050s head design for the newest model the QT4090? Means it was a bad design that got scrapped. Got my QT4050 at KMART.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Sonoma, CA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This products attachments are weak

Posted14 May 2013
I've owned this trimmer 3 years and am replacing it now.
The attachments break very easily and the battery won't charge properly or last like you'd expect.
Prosdoes a nice job trimming
Consattachments, battery life
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not hold up to its name

Posted10 December 2013
The vacuum only catches some clippings. EVERY TIME i use this, there's ALWAYS clippings on my sink. Absolutely dissapointing
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Knoxville, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product and update to older model

Posted19 November 2013
I have had the earlier model for many years and while it continued to perform good, the battery (alkaline) would not hold a charge for very long. the new model has the lithium ion battery and is much more dependable. I am very satisfied with the new trimmer
Prosvery reliable
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Beardtrimmer series 7000 Vacuum stubble and beard trimmer QT4070/32 1mm precision settings Self-sharpening blades 75mins cordless use/1h charge Turbo power boost button
Customer avatar
From:Montana, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fully up to expectations. Built in vacuum best feature.

Posted31 October 2013
This was a replacement for a competitor's product that lasted for over ten years. It is a definite upgrade. Thedesign is not ergometrically ideal but functional. The blade height adjustment is somewhat stiff but manageable. All in all, worth the higher price.
Prosbuilt in vacuum.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>