Customer reviews for Philips Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Philips.

Philips Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger

Sonicare's best whitening in our most elegant Philips Sonicare electric toothbrush. Switch to Sonicare.
Overall rating:
4.576 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(895 reviews) 895
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 895 reviews
5 Stars
658
4 Stars
154
3 Stars
42
2 Stars
23
1 Star
18
818 out of 87693%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Review 1 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
Howie411
From:Fairfax, VA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Feature Downgrade

Posted5 November 2011
This toothbrush is a downgrade from previous Sonicare Toothbrushs.
Rubber Grip removed so now the brush is slippery.
3 slice battery indicator removed. Hard to tell when battery is low.
Mode button removed, now you need to change the mode once the brush is in your mouth or have your toothpaste fling all over the place.
New brush heads are way over priced.
No more UV Cleaner.
While the brush works its more of a downgrade and your pretty much just paying for the cool charging features.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+34points
36of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
FlyerJay
From:Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

An AMAZING addition to Sonicare's line with one big flaw (or two)...

Posted6 October 2011
I have been a Sonicare user for about eight years and have grown to love the design, ease of use, and amazingly effective dental care their products provide. On a recent business trip I left my Sonicare Flexcare+ in my hotel room and was very disappointed when it could not be found later by the hotel staff. I immediately went on line to see what the latest Sonicare model was, and was amazed to find the Sonicare DiamondClean. Even though there were not many reviews out yet, I knew this product had to be great.
I ordered my DiamondClean and eagerly awaited its arrival. The brush lives up to everything I had read with one big flaw, in my opinion. Let me first say that this unit left my teeth feeling cleaner than they've EVER felt. I had noticeably cleaner teeth after the first use.
The flaw, in my opinion, is that the designers left off a very important element which is the button that allows you to select the mode before you turn on the brush. Users of Flexcare know what I'm talking about...there is a "toggle" button that allows you to select the brush mode and a separate button that turns the unit on. With the DiamondClean you have to press the power button multiple times to reach the desired brush mode. Try that with toothpaste on the brush head and trying to look down to see which mode you are selecting. BAD design. I guess in time I will learn how many clicks for gum care, etc. but this was definitely a huge let-down for me in such an expensive Sonicare model.
The other interesting feature is the USB travel case. I find this a bit "gimicky" as I have never been to a hotel that didn't have an electrical outlet for me to plug in my Sonicare, and furthermore, I have to be on a VERY long trip to require me to charge it. The other let-down with the very sleek travel case is the fact that you cannot place the brush head clear cover on the brush head and place it into the case. Only the brushead with no cover will fit into the precisely molded fittings. Another obvious flaw that hopefully will be corrected in future releases.
Overall, I am happy and think you will be as well.
Prossuper sharp design, powerful brush heads, multiple brush modes, sleek charging glass, sleek travel case
Consno button to select modes prior to turning on unit, brush head will not fit into travel case with cap
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
DrLisa
From:Indianapolis
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NO STERILIZER!!!

Posted10 November 2011
Please, please, please, please bring back the UV sterilizer on this model. I am a dentist and have just spent the past years convincing everyone how dirty it is to leave the toothbrush head out in the open in the bathroom. Even Dr. Oz is on board! So now, Sonicare, the leader in my opinion of toothbrushes, has NO sterilizer for its highest end toothbrush! This sends completely the wrong message. On a positive note, I love the long sleek design. I think it helps those patients who tend to want to scrub anyway just hold the brush in place. It is simple and very effective. Again, just bring back the sterilizer on this model!
Prossleek design nice charging idea
Consno sterilizer -head is out in the dirty open room!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
+30points
38of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
pipp4
From:Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:Female
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost perfect

Posted8 January 2012
Hey Philips -- this is a superb toothbrush and in my opinion near perfect. I am delighted at all of the nifty extras -- USB travel case, 2 charging bases, the glass -- however, I find myself pretty much just using the glass/charger and wonder how necessary these other additions were to include. The battery life of this brush is about 3 weeks fully charged so I can't even imagine traveling with the USB charger (even though it's cool).
My only complaints which could be improved upon in the next version are 1) there is no warning system for when battery is low and 2) how the heck are you supposed to change brushing modes when you put toothpaste on the brush? Also, 3) I see other versions have a UV sterilizer. I'd much rather have this than the other nifty extras.
Despite the few complaints, I have to say the industrial design here is absolutely gorgeous and the product cleans my teeth better than any brush I have owned.
Thanks!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
topconsumer
From:Austin, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Best cleaner, worse one to use!!!

Posted17 January 2012
I own this product as well as the Flex care+ and use both everyday.(in two different places) the diamond clean does clean better although if you put the diamond clean head on the Flex care they feel to have the same clean, that being said the Flex care+ has this beautiful second button that allows you to change modes before you turn it on, 2 main reasons this is important is because its a guessing game on the mode you are using because you will fling toothpaste everywhere as well as if you wanna turn it back on for a quick follow up and and turn it back off it now requires you pressing the button through all the 5 modes before it will turn off. how they thought deleting that feature plus it not having a uv cleaner makes it more expensive and top dog i can't understand, to me equals a cheaper unit. the Flex care+ has rubber grip this guy(diamond clean) is slick with its wanna b ceramic feel which looks great but will fly out of your hand faster than an iPone with no case. last huuuuuge pick with this unit is that the head cover is USELESS literally they don't fit in the case, i travel a lot and i love covering it when I'm not home, why would i wanna put the head cover in my pocket or bag when i have a this usb charging case. to bad doesn't fit with it.
Prosbest clean and most plaque removal.
Consno mode changeto slippery useless head cover
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+24points
38of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
RDA07
From:San Francisco, CA, USA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I am a Registered Dental Assistant

Posted11 January 2014
I am a Registered Dental Assistant and I speak very highly about Sonicare toothbrushes to all of my patients. I have personally been using them for over a decade now.
I am NOT impressed with this new design at all. The DiamondClean is either my 5th or 6th model. I have never had any issues with my previous units so I am dissapointed in this one. Here is my breakdown:
1. Performance is still excellent, so that gets maximum stars... when it holds a charge.
2. My particular unit may be defective. It is brand new, as my FlexCare model just died on me two days ago. I fully charged my DiamondClean, using the travel case and used it once the charge was complete. No issues at all with the actual performance of the cleaning action - still the great Sonicare that I'm familiar with. I put it on the wall charging base and went to bed. This morning I tried to brush my teeth and the battery is completely dead. I put it back on the base, just in case I had it on incorrectly overnight. Nope - the wall charger is useless. It seams that I can only charge my unit using the travel case, which apparently will not hold a charge for more than one use and will pose to be a major inconenience for me in my daily routine.
3. As some of the other reviewers mentioned, the new sleek design does not allow you to easily adjust your brushing preferance unless you memorize how many pushes to get to which type of cleaning action you want, or if you look in the mirror to see it. This is not ideal for something that is supposed to be user friendly.
Again, I am a Registered Dental Assistant and I have worked in dentistry for over a decade. I love Sonicare and will continue to encourage my patients to use the product because it does make a difference in your oral health, but I will not recommend this particular model.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
runnergirl
From:St. Louis, MO, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

disappointing

Posted11 January 2014
I used my Sonicare Flexcare Series 5 toothbrush for a year and was in love after a few days. It quit working properly and the Philips company was excellant about sending me a replacement. In the meantime, I had bought a Diamond Clean (not knowing that I would be getting a replacement Flexcare). I have been disappointed with the non cleaning ability of the Diamond Clean. Not as effective as the Flexcare! Also it is very noisy! I feel like I will wake up the whole household when I use it! Everyday I wonder why I am still using this. Guess since I spent more $ on it than I did the Flexcare, I feel I need to wear it down a bit then toss it to the side. Never want to go back to a regular manual toothbrush again. Guess I need to write a review for my fav...Flexcare!!!!
Prosgreat brand
Consdoesn't clean well and is noisy
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
SGGA
From:Northern, VA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Performance and Design!

Posted26 December 2011
My teeth felt even cleaner than my last sonicare. The performance and design are awesome. The membrane at the base of the brush attachment is the same as my last model, which tore and compromised it's performance. I am hoping for a longer life with this new model.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
ethel
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

design flaw

Posted4 May 2013
though the product cleans very well - the fact that you can not preset to a particular mode is a big design flaw.
i need the sensitive mode.
the fact that i have to cycle through the other modes while the toothbrush is in my mouth, and running, is awkward to say the least.
since there is a subtle difference in the sounds while cycling, i usually have to take the brush out of my mouth to confirm i've reached "sensitive"....toothpaste of course splatters.
the design team really needs to figure out a way so that people can preset to their desired mode BEFORE having to turn on the brush.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
Dognatowski
From:Sacramento, CA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recharging Options includes base without drinking glass

Posted29 December 2011
I almost didn't buy the DiamondClean because it appears that the only recharging option is in the glass which I did not like but it also has a nice compact stand included. They should show this picture too!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
RichM
From:Southeastern MA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product - best on the market.

Posted17 June 2013
This is my second Philips toothbrush, the first having been purchased over five years ago. The newer Diamond model is so much better with various modes of operation to brush, stimulate, etc. I find the newer model more robust in doing the job and also holding charge. My dentist also approves since my hygiene has vastly improved with the addition of the Philips Sonicare to my daily brushings.
What I would recommend to improve the design is a better method to secure and protect the toothbrush - especially the head portion, which could be easily damaged if falling from the cup charger to the floor. My wife also tends to keep her two personal heads in the glass re-charger along with the toothbrush which appears to make the toothbrush in the holder more unstable. Perhaps you could consider a protective cap to keep the toothbrush shaft from being damaged from falls and other sources of impact.
.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
WAM1492
From:West Hartford, CT
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It no longer holds its charge.

Posted18 June 2012
In February my sonicare no long holds a charge. I have owned and recommended sonicares for years. I am very disappointed.
I have not had time to return it.
Consdoesn't hold a charge
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
MikeG
From:Minneapolis, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great! Handle is slippery, though.

Posted9 October 2011
This is the best SonicCare I have tried and I have tried them all. I think the brush head is a big improvement. But the handle is slippery and I have dropped it several times because it slipped right out of my hand.
Prosnew brush head design
Consslippery handle
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
WReese
From:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love how the product cleans

Posted23 October 2011
My only complaint is the placement of the on and off button. It often cuts off due to my natural hand placement. The switch design should be a tad lower.
Prosclean wonderfully
Consthe replacement brush heads are expensive.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
lovingit
From:Tallahassee, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Clean Feel

Posted29 May 2013
My dentist actually gave me this toothbrush. I must say it is the best gift ever! I have only used it 3 times, once last night and twice this morning (before and after coffee as I used my whitening product last night). My teeth feel so clean I almost don't want to eat or drink anything but water. I am so happy to have been given this product. I honestly look forward to brushing my teeth now. My teeth are a little sensitive, but I think it is mostly due to the whitening gel. Maybe could be the fact I am still getting used to a stronger vibrating brush.
All in all, I love it. I would most definitely recommend it to anyone who can afford it. I was having trouble with the price, but have been wanting it for the past several months as I have had lots of dental work and want to avoid going through it again. I was planning to purchase next month, but they were so proud I stopped smoking and got all my dental work done quickly and without complaint that the wonderful people gave it to me.
I am so happy to be brushing my teeth with this, now I just gotta get over the not wanting to eat and ruin this great feeling!
Prossuper clean feel, nice look
Consprice
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
Whatevers
From:Mililani, HI, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost a 5!

Posted22 April 2013
I really love the Sonicare DiamondClean toothbrush, but my only gripe is that the on-off button gets in the way sometimes and makes me prematurely turn the brush off. I never had that problem with any of the other Sonicare toothbrushes that I had before, but must say that this one cleans way better than the others. It seems the Sonicare toothbrushes just keep getting better and better. I first started using them over 10 years ago when my dentist recommended it and have been using Sonicare ever since.
Consthe on-off button gets in the way.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
ADRC
From:cleveland, oh
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No way to personalize brush heads

Posted12 November 2012
Nice design and everything. However, there doesn't seem to be any way to mark the brush heads. So we have two people using the product, and two identical brush heads. We're still trying to figure out how to differentiate them so we don't use each other's brush heads by accident. Didn't seem to be any advice in the instructions for how to do that.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
Bing128
From:Binghamton, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing compared to previous Sonicare models

Posted17 June 2012
This unit has one button, which requires that you click through speeds to turn off. I would have preferred a separate on/off button. Also, case does not accommodate brush heads with the cap on, I prefer to have the cap on when I travel (which is when the case is used). And, most importantly, I purchased this brush in December and it is now June and it no longer works. My previous Sonicare lasted me 3 years and cost half as much as this model.
Proscomfortable to hold
Conspoor quality, travel case
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
Maverick1174
From:San Diego, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great features but difficult to utilize

Posted16 June 2012
The previous model Sonicare with the UV stand is in my opinion the best toothbrush Sonicare has ever had. The new DiamondClean does a fantastic job for what it was intended to do, however; the additional features are hard to use. For instance, when turning on the unit, if you decide to turn it off - it begins to cycle through the various brushing modes. You must let the unit stay on for several seconds before attempting to turn the unit off.
This model is somewhat difficult to hold and manipulate because all surfaces are hard smooth plastic which lends itself for slipping out of your hand or your hand migrating towards the brushing head during operations. No silicone areas for superior grip.
No UV sterilization for brush heads with this model.
Prosgreat brushing and cleaning attributes
Conssee review
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Rechargeable sonic toothbrush HX9332/12 5 modes 2 brush heads Glass charger USB travel charger
Customer avatar
losangelesman295
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleek, elegant, and effective.

Posted9 October 2011
I've been using Sonicare toothbrushes for the better part of a decade. Usually upgrading every few years. But this model takes the prize. I'll be honest. I got it because of the cool charging glass (which works like a charm). But I love the new whitening and polishing settings. Just great. Even by Sonicare standards, my teeth feel super clean.
Prosdesign, elegance, effective, the cool charging glass!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 44 next>>