Customer reviews for Philips Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer

Philips Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer

With nine unique brushing options, an intuitive pressure sensor and advanced brush head technology, the Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum toothbrush goes beyond traditional cleaning to deliver exceptional plaque removal and improved gum health.
Overall rating:
3.861 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
7
33 out of 4279%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Review 1 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Tampa, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mouth feels Clean & Fresh

Posted16 May 2015
I purchased the FlexCare model 1 week ago and love it. The timer feature is great, I never timed my brushing before and realize I was skimping. I can tell the brush is reaching areas that have been problems for me in the past, so I'm anxious for my next dental checkup to see how much healthier my teeth and gums are after using the Sonicare. I like that it has a Sensitivity setting, having never used an electronic toothbrush I need to ease into the experience.
Prostimer feature, sensitivity setting
Consnothing yet....
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:LA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I have this since Christmas. Mine went "crazy" in March.

Posted1 May 2015
I have this since Christmas. Mine went "crazy" in March. The motor stopped during use and restarted again. It also vibrated/started up when I was done using it. It won't charge either. I have never used the UV Sanitizer. I also found it a bit complicated to understand the different modes.
I intend to take it back my retailer. They will give me my money back.
I had one of their cheap models that lasted over ten years. I don't like this one and will not buy it again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Eagan, MN, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, read the warranty

Posted2 April 2015
This is the second Sonicare I've gotten. I chose the model with the UV cleaner, but after about 18-20 months the UV portion just quit. Thinking the warranty was for one year, as most for these types of products are, I figured I was just out of luck. Recently I was looking at the warranty and discovered it was for two years. I could have gotten it replaced (maybe, other reviewers report problems with Phillips honoring the warranty) if I had known.
The small travel charger is nice. The brush works well, but frequently I accidentally turn it off during the cycle because my thumb is so close to the button. Overall it is really good for gum health.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Died after 1 year

Posted26 January 2015
I LOVE that this toothbrush is better than about any other item like it on the market. However, the fact that its ridiculously expensive and died after 14 months is unacceptable. I am torn between buying a new one just like it because I love it so much, or just buying a very less expensive model by another brand.
When it works, its amazing! It was recommended by my dentist, and I continued to recommend to friends. I won't be doing that anymore... much too pricey for the quality behind it.
Prosclean teeth, nice travel case
Consdied after 14 months.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Tampa, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Works but dies too fast, Too expensive.

Posted3 January 2015
Battery life unacceptably short
Unit extremely expensive.
Maybe with time the development will make it worth
Prosgood when it works
Constoo expensive, battery dies fast
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:White Plains, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money!

Posted2 December 2014
I'm a Dental Hygienist that switched over from another Electric toothbrush. I purchased 3 brushes from Sonicare. In less than 2 years they have all died.
Proscleans when it works
Consvery short life span
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Houston
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best toothbrush ever

Posted28 November 2014
I am very satisfied with the clean feeling I received fromega this tooth brush.
Prosvivid clea
Consnone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:New Jersey, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding toothbrush. Feels like you just walked out of the dentist office.

Posted23 November 2014
I had used my old electric toothbrush for over 10 years and decided it was time to get a new one. My dentist recommended a Phillips Sonicare. I bought the Sonicare Platinum toothbrush several weeks ago. The adjustable intensity feature was a great way to introduce myself to a totally unique in-home brushing experience. I absolutely love this toothbrush. I can actually see a difference in the whiteness of my teeth.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Annandale, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sonicare is the Standard!!

Posted1 November 2014
I purchase this product in Late August. Started using in late SEPT. It works fine!! I am confused with the battery location on the bottom of the brush instead of the top. Anything electric toothbrush is better than using a manual!!
Prossleek design, multiple modes for brushing
Conssmall bristles
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Miami, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horribly made and made to pay

Posted6 August 2014
Within the last two years I have had three of these machines go haywire on me.
First one simply died after 10 months. Dealing with Sonicare to replace it was like pulling teeth. Within six months that one died. Sonicare refused to replace it due to already being a replacement.
I should have learned my lesson. BUT! I had just bought a new pack of diamond head brushes and used one so I wasn't going to lose that money.
Order the last brush. Mistake.
It works fine and within the last two months if I attempt to charge it prior to fully dying it just turns on and off while on the stand. After fully discharging and hopefully charging the settings go to the quick clean and I have to fight with it by placing it back on the stand to possibly get it to full clean.
Save your money. Buy anything else.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Response from PhilipsBy NVPhilips Webcare Team10 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry that you’ve had a dissatisfying experience with the Sonicare toothbrush. We request you to contact the local Consumer Care. They will look into the matter and will be able to help you out further. Please find below the link for the same:
http://www.support.philips.com/supp...
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's missing a wall mount.

Posted26 July 2014
This model looks like it has everything I'd want in an electric toothbrush but the most important thing . . . I wall mount! In fact, none of your toothbrushes have what a wall mount which is a vital feature in a crowded bathroom.
Consno wall mount.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Fort Valley, GA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

made a major positive difference

Posted31 March 2014
While I have an earlier model than this platinum, I did not expect it would make the difference it made in my teeth. I had trouble with my teeth all my life and I was terrified of the dentist even the cleanings. I always felt I needed a vallum just to enter the dentist office for anything even cleaning. I started having gum problems also and that made cleaning more of a nightmare. I finally got the sonic system from my dentist and used it. I like it ok but this past cleaning I saw the real difference. When the hygenist went to get the plaque off my teeth she only found two little specks and the rest was refreshing. I could not believe the difference it made and I have no gum problem anymore and I don't brush twice a day even but it made the difference. I wish I could afford to give every child born a unit so they would never have to know the horrible nightmare I have lived with a dentist office visit. I am 65yrs and I just bought my mother one she is 81 yrs and I plan to buy my 8 year old grandson one. Kids don't like to brush their teeth but this will work even if they are not good at it. I enjoy it more now that I am not afrid of the dentist. Thanks Sonic
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Frisco, TX
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am very satisfied with my Philips Sonicare toothbrush.

Posted29 December 2013
The smaller toothbrush head seems to get betweem my teeth better tan the last toothbruch I had.
Prosthe batterry seems to last a ling time between cha
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Idaho
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not happy with the first one I bought from you

Posted29 December 2013
The only thing I have to complain about is the basic model I bought a couple of years ago. It did not clean well my dental hygienist said my teeth had never been so bad. I got these for my six year old that was getting cavities and again she got cavities with the basic model. I am hoping with this better brush she will not get cavities again as it is remarkably better at cleaning teeth. I don't know why you even sell the basic model I was so disappointed in it.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:League City, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding quality, features and performance

Posted21 December 2013
Product has met, and in some instances, surpassed my expectations. My teeth and gums look and feel healthier and the brush is comfortable and rewarding to use.
Proscomfortable effective brushing., feature rich.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Asheville, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Placement of buttons

Posted21 December 2013
When using the product the on-off button his hit causing some frustrations. This is the third Phillips brush I have used. Does an outstanding job and for the most part easy to use.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nicely Done

Posted20 December 2013
This brushing system provides everything that a clean mouth wants to remain healthy. This is an upgrade to a Philips product that we already have.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Edwardsville, PA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy with the results

Posted17 November 2013
Just starting to get use to an electronic toothbrush so I'm still on gentle mode but am pleasantly surprised how clean my teeth feel.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Boardman, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is easy to use and works great

Posted10 November 2013
This was highly recommended by my dentist office. It does a great job keeping my teeth very clean. I would recommend it others.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Rechargeable sonic toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV Brush Head Sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Midwest. Cherry valley il 61016 USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feel it is really cleaning my teeth Love it

Posted9 November 2013
Love this toothbrush. Really feels like it gets all surface clean
Proseasy of use
Yes, I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>