Customer reviews for Philips Philips Soundbar speaker HTL2101A 2.0 CH bass reflex system USB audio 40W

Philips Philips Soundbar speaker HTL2101A 2.0 CH bass reflex system USB audio 40W

Get amazing virtual surround sound from your TV via just one cable! In addition to movies, you can also enjoy top quality Music iLink MP3 playback from your mobile devices.
Overall rating:
1.875 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
3 out of 838%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Soundbar speaker HTL2101A 2.0 CH bass reflex system USB audio 40W
Review 1 for Philips Soundbar speaker HTL2101A 2.0 CH bass reflex system USB audio 40W
Customer avatar
nursiev
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

Posted4 August 2014
This soundbar has given us trouble from the day we bought it. It has horrible quality. The sound fluctuates. Sometimes it will be loud and other times we can turn it to full volume and barely hear it. The remote is also cheap quality and the buttons are not very responsive. I updated the software and it helped some, but still disappointing.
Conspoor quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Soundbar speaker HTL2101A 2.0 CH bass reflex system USB audio 40W
Customer avatar
Darby13
From:Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great sound for the price

Posted31 January 2014
Needed something to spruce up the sound of my new flat screen, but didn't want anything too expensive since it's going to live in the basement. Easy set-up, although it didn't come with any cables. Luckily, as a precaution, I bought a coaxial cable when I bought the sound bar. I'm LOVING it. I'm actually surprised by the sound quality for something I bought at WalMart for under $50. The bass is wonderful for the size of the bar. Overall, I'm very pleased with this product. Agree with other reviewers, though. Gonna have to elevate my TV so the bar won't interfere with remote function.
Prosgreat sound for great price
Consodd design r/t remote use
Yes, I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Soundbar speaker HTL2101A 2.0 CH bass reflex system USB audio 40W
Customer avatar
Discouraged
From:Gig Harbor, WA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Really Disappointing

Posted30 January 2014
Bought it with the hopes of plugging it into my smart TV with little trouble. Come to find out it doesn't come with any cables. Why wasn't this stated on the box? The users manual is useless. Bought a cable and it didn't work. Followed the instructions to the letter (of which there were few). The website offered little help. Tried to get support via on-line chat and it was unavailable. Tried to Google the product for troubleshooting to no avail. I've owned quality Philips products in the past and have always been pleased. This is truly a disappointment and an inconvenience to return. Will be more scrutinizing when I attempt a different manufacturer's product. At least I'm armed with questions this time.
Prosright size for my tv
Consdoesn't come with cables, minimal instructions/troubleshooting is lacking
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Soundbar speaker HTL2101A 2.0 CH bass reflex system USB audio 40W
Customer avatar
1stSoundbarExperience
From:VA
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for a step up from TV speakers

Posted11 January 2014
We wanted something economical that would simply give us better audio than our TV. With 3 kids running around playing, our TV speakers were no match for the constant background noise in our house. Overall, we are happy with this soundbar, because it does give us better volume. The only complaint we have with it is that the remote sensor is on top of the unit, so when the soundbar is sitting in front of the TV (ours is on a stand at eye level), you have to reach your arm way up to get the remote signal to the sensor, or you have to angle the soundbar down some so you can see the sensor. It seems like it would have been better designed to have the sensor on the front of the unit... Unless these things are intended to sit on the floor? (Not practical when you've got a toddler in the house). Also, at first, the soundbar was blocking the sensor on the front of our TV, so we had to elevate the TV a few inches to overcome that. But all-in-all, we're happy with it for the price.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Soundbar speaker HTL2101A 2.0 CH bass reflex system USB audio 40W
Customer avatar
deedge
From:Pittsfield, MA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

Posted8 January 2014
Easy to hook up, and sounds great. The surround sound could use some work. It sounds like an echo, but you don't have to use it if you don't want to. Overall I think it's a great product. It also looks nice, and can be mounted on the wall.
Proslooks nice, sounds great, easy to hook up
Conssurround could be better
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Soundbar speaker HTL2101A 2.0 CH bass reflex system USB audio 40W
Customer avatar
tdppjp
From:Kansas City, MO, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad design

Posted1 January 2014
When the sound bar sitting in front of your t.v. or facing you the "on" light is on the top so you can't tell if it is turned on and the sound bar doesn't seem to work at times since it is so slow to activate when it is turned on. This one is going back and I would not recommend it.
The surround sound function sounds like a cheap echo.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Soundbar speaker HTL2101A 2.0 CH bass reflex system USB audio 40W
Customer avatar
rstles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work in front of TV

Posted28 December 2013
This product is shown as being mounted under the TV. Unfortunately, when placed under the TV the remote for the sound bar does not work. After checking that the battery was good, I eventually figured out that moving the sound bar to the side of the TV or 12 inches below the TV that the remote would work. Apparently the sound bar is not shielded enough to allow it to work directly under the TV. I therefore ended up having to place it to the side of the TV for the remote to work.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Soundbar speaker HTL2101A 2.0 CH bass reflex system USB audio 40W
Customer avatar
unhappy11
From:Winchester, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Setup

Posted17 December 2013
No audio cables included, not recommended. Very disappointed. returned and bought a better product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.