Customer reviews for Philips Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology

Philips Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology

With the Philips Airfryer, you can eat healthier without giving up the taste and texture of your favorite foods. Using its unique Rapid Air Technology, the Airfryer fries, bakes, roasts and grills with a tablespoon or less of oil making it a perfect solution for fast and healthy meals and snacks.
Overall rating:
4.553 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
41 out of 4591%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Review 1 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
KitchenGadgetKing
From:Pennsylvania, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cut the Fat!

Posted10 September 2014
I saw the demo of this on HSN and was amazed so I bought it. I'm glad I did. This product is awesome. It crisps bacon at 390 degrees in less than ten minutes. Grilled cheese, 5 minutes. Just brush the bread with a tiny bit of olive oil or butter. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes fried food but does not like the oil that goes with it.
Prossimple and easy to use
Consa bit bulky.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Rahib
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buy multi-coocker not airfryer

Posted14 July 2014
I have always been happy with the products of Philips, but in my opinion Airfryer is a bad product ever created by Philips! You never cooked chips which look like in McD, KFC etc. It's impossible. Meat cooked in the Airfryer always dry. Only some vegetables (like tomatoes) are obtained succulent.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Response from PhilipsBy ASPhilips Webcare Team16 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We recommend you to add oil onto the ingredients before you start hot air frying. Do not add oil into the Airfryer itself!
To add oil to homemade potato dishes, such as French fries, follow the steps below:
1. Peel the potatoes and cut them into the preferred shape.
2. Soak the potatoes in a bowl for at least 30 minutes, take them out and dry them with kitchen paper.
3. Put half a tablespoon of oil in a bowl. Put the potatoes in the bowl and mix until they are coated with oil.
4. Remove the potatoes with your fingers or a kitchen utensil and put them in the basket of the AirFryer.
To add oil to larger ingredients, such as drumsticks or meat:
1. Dry the outside of the food with kitchen paper, if necessary.
2. Lightly brush oil onto the outside of the food or use an oil spray. Only coat with 1 layer. Excess oil will drip into the pan during the hot air frying process.
Tip: You can also marinate meat or poultry instead of brushing oil onto the outside.
Note: Adding oil is only necessary when you prepare homemade dishes from fresh ingredients that have not been pretreated, such as freshly peeled potatoes or unmarinated chicken. Adding oil creates a crispy layer on untreated food and improves its taste.
Hope this helps.
For further queries, please contact our Consumer Care team by accessing the following link:
http://philips.to/1oHaQEl under the Philips Online Store at the bottom left of the page and our representative with expertise in handling this product will be happy to help you. Thanks.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Jklevesque
From:Maine, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Investment EVER!!!

Posted4 January 2014
I'm cutting to the chase...if you love fried food but want to live a healthy lifestyle this is a MUST HAVE!!! Bought this after watching it on HSN. I thought it was too good to be true, but I'm here to tell you it truly is fabulous. You name it, I've tried it. From chicken wings to fried cauliflower and everything you could imagine in between, this is hands down the easiest, most impressive kitchen appliance I own. I leave it on the counter, since we use it so much, and everyone that comes over asks me what it is. When I tell them, they don't believe it, so I let the Airfryer speak for itself. People are floored! Five Stars!!!
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
John245
From:Satellite Beach
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product. Could use a larger capacity model though.

Posted3 January 2014
A great product but woefully lacking in good recipes to use. You have to just try things out yourself to determine times and temperatures. There are just so many more things that can be cooked in this airfryer than you show in your little recipe book. But, putting that aside, I find myself using it more and more and doing a lot of experimenting on my own. It is a fabulous cooking device.
Proscooks just about everything well, french fries are great, makes the best grilled cheese ever, meats poultry and fish are excellent.
Conslacking in number of recipes available, need a larger capacity model.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Drewsmom
From:Central Florida
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phillips Airfryer

Posted30 December 2013
I purchased this Phillips Airfryer hoping to be able to eat some of my favorite foods without having to fry them. I love fried chicken and French fries. I have discovered that I can have it all. Both the chicken and French fries are done to perfection. And even though the instructions say that I can add a few tablespoons of oil, it's really not necessary, especially for the chicken. I just add whatever spices I like and the airfryer does the rest.
Prosthis airfryer cleans up to its like new condition
Conshave not found one yet
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Gerrys72
From:Centennial, CO, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Didn't even know these existed

Posted28 December 2013
Bought this after reading some Amazon reviews. Have only used it to make French fries and they are great. No oil is used at all. I know there will be other products I will use it for, but so far it has been effortless.
I wonder how this compares with a convection oven.
Prosmodern design easy to use.
Constoo easy to eat french fries
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Cptjack
From:Mississippi, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally Something As "FAST" as Fast Food!

Posted23 December 2013
This Multicooker is great for doing those frozen snacks that take twice as long in a conventional oven or come out soggy in a microwave. Then there's the lack of having to use oil for making dishes from scratch. Chicken wings come out as crisp as being fried in a deep fryer! Buffalo Wings without the mess and odors of a quart of oil bubbling on the counter. It's great, when was the last time you had a perfect grilled cheese sandwich in 4 min?
Prosquick to clean, easy to use
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Tinangel
From:Bridgewater NJ
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is very easy to use

Posted20 December 2013
Used my Air Fryer for the first time today. I made chicken wings and it was soooo easy. Glad I bought this product and I am sure I will be doing so much more with it.
Proseasy to use and clean
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Hogrider47
From:Central Pa
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

Posted25 November 2013
The Air Fryer is the greatest, I use it all the time I have purchased the baking pan and also the grill pan and they also are great. Waiting for the double rack to be available I will have that too. I really love this product.
Proseasy to clean
Consnone so far
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Crafty414
From:Brookhaven, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!

Posted17 November 2013
I received my air fryer about a week ago and have used it practically every day. It is so easy to use, cleans up beautifully, and cooks like a dream. I live alone so the small basket is perfect for me. If you have a larger family, don't let this deter you from purchase. You will just have to so a few extra batches, but it is well worth the extra effort.
Consabsolutely none
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Fifi
From:Scotland, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features, ease of use and size

Posted31 December 2013
Best product I have bought in a long time, get one or miss out
Yes, I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
HubbardstonGirl1
From:Hubbardston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good oil less frying

Posted12 November 2013
Got this product a few weeks ago. Great item for oil less frying. More time needed to use fresh potatoes.
Proscooks without oil
Consexpensive
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Trevorjc18
From:Burlingame, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sounds good but not very practical

Posted2 December 2013
I was very disappointed to read in the instruction manual that I should use frozen, pre-prepared fries in the AirFryer. This is certainly not what I expected.
I followed the instructions for home-made fries and they were OK.
I have not tried cooking anything else yet, so I can't really recommend it. I was surprised how big it is - it takes up a lot of space and I don't have a convenient place to keep it.
Consbig, takes up a lot of counter space or storage space, recommeded to use frozen packaged food
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Doseygal
From:Indianapolis, IN, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent!!!! but...

Posted5 October 2013
This does what it says it will do. And does it VERY well. I've made both homemade and frozen fries - both were excellent. Finally went for it and did fried chicken: boneless, skinless thighs, no less. The family RAVED!!! It's so wonderful to have fried foods again - and less fat than if we grilled them!!
I would have given it 5 stars across the board except for one rather glaring oversight in the design. The non-digital control - perhaps not so much the timer, though that is bad enough - but the temperature control. It's just not user-friendly. It's hard to tell what temperature you are cooking with.
Prosexcellent "fried food" results
Consneeds electronic/digital controls
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Jtlam
From:Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Healthy fried food! fast and safe!

Posted15 November 2013
I wish though the basket inside is easier to clean. Even though I spray spam inside the basket, it is still hard to get rid of the grease and stuff.
It might be little bit better if the inside is bigger so it can at least makes 4 servings instead of only 2 servings each time. Not very practical for family of 4!
But other than that, this product is great. I love it.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Georgiagirl
From:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

On the job training

Posted8 September 2013
I like how the fryer cooks, however, the recipe book that came with it is VERY small and limited so using the fryer is more trial and error than "easy as pie". The advertisement leads you to believe NO oil is necessary to "fry", that also is not true, however, the amount of oil you use is minimal. For the steep price I expected more detailed user information. I found out foods tend to stick to the basket so I now use a product like Pam to keep this to a minimum. The things that cook best in this fryer are things meant to be cooked in an oven (i.e., prepackaged). Using fresh produce, meat, etc. things turn out but only after a lot of work and trying to figure out the correct time/temperature. I would recommend it on the merit that it does reduce the amount of oil in fried foods and as I use it more and more I will, most likely, learn to like it more. Right now I give it a 6 out of 10.
Proscooks oven ready food pretty good
Conspoor instructions with product, fresh items stick to basket, timer must run out you can't canel it, the high price
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Moki777
From:San Diego, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

Posted28 August 2013
Love it !!
Will buy for Christmas for my mom and sisters
Prosvery fast, easy to clean
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Robin49
From:Albany,Ga,USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Airfryer is great.it really works!!

Posted27 August 2013
The air fryer is great. I think it is the best advance in cooking since sliced bread!! Even my nickpicky sister loves using it and the clean up is a breeze!!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
HollyNicki
From:Louisiana, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Getting USED TO IT

Posted20 August 2013
I was overwhelmed when I took it out of the box. It takes getting used to and some trail and error. They do not have recipes on their website as stated in the presentation. Very disappointing. I am sure as I get more confidant I will love it. It is big but it fit under my counter. They need to provide more information in the form of recipes and tips that we can go by as we get used to it.
Prosgreat idea
Consno recipes
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26 Low fat fryer Multicooker Black 800 g with Rapid Air technology
Customer avatar
Zingy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One great product.

Posted18 August 2013
This is the best ever for healthy cooking. Would highly recommend. Best buy to date.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>