Customer reviews for Philips Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max

Philips Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max

Listen to all your digital music from your Smartphone via Bluetooth. This Philips Micro system also plays MP3-CD and CD-R/RW, and features Bass Reflex speakers for powerful and dramatic bass.
Overall rating:
4.048 / 5
4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
13 out of 1776%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Review 1 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Owensboro
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just hope u don't waste your money

Posted13 June 2015
I purchased this unit for my man cave and at first it was like working well with my CD's and Flash Drive and then I was informed by my son about something I had no idea about a wire that u plug into your laptop and this unit and go get your Pandora or Slacker Music set up and this includes YT videos. At first in the privacy of my own listen experience I thought a lot about how clear the sound was. But we all have Summer Cookouts in Our Drive Ways and this is where this unit fails cause I got my out into the back gate of my home and the unit could not deliver the sound we desired and so just to let any one know don't waste your money getting this unit, yet when i hooked the same laptop into my home theater unit with surround sound OMG!!! I was just amazed and only thing is you can not stop music (LOL) so unless you need a office unit or your bedroom this unit will not let u Party til the morning light LOL
Prosprofessional looks
Consworse sound delivery
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Oak Forest, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features!

Posted14 February 2015
Love the bluetooth and great sound! Perfect for our kitchen.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cannot find a better product for the price.

Posted2 February 2015
This stereo rocks for the size. The stated wattage is 70, but it seems much higher. It easily connects via bluetooth. The sound is loud; nice bass; crisp and clear. A very nice product at an amazingly low price; well worth the money. I also have Philips speakers for my computer; keep up the good work.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product.

Posted3 January 2015
I am surprised the sound of this stereo as well as the bluetooth capability. At this price and it's profromance I would highly recomend this.
Proscompact size. amazing sound.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Southern Illinois, Eldorado
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little shelf radio/cd/Bluetooth unit

Posted25 December 2014
Bought this for Christmas. Needed something to listen to local radio stations that was moderately priced. It is Bluetooth compatible and has really good sound. Got great reception indoors in a rural area. Nice profile and size. Problems: No way to connect another type of antenna or signal booster. Use of remote is NOT intuitive and there is no manual that comes with the unit. Glad I bought it. My dad is partially deaf but he is able to hear the sound on this unit and there is little to no static. Now he can listen to his ball games. Thanks Phillips for continuing to produce some of the more traditional audio units!
Proscompact design, great sound, bluetooth compatible, usb and flash drive compatible, can play multiple media formats
Consno way to update antenna, speakers are plug type, not intuitive in programming unit
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Indianapolis, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features sounds and looks great

Posted6 December 2014
Best stereos over all others bought a sony shelf system took back sound and fetures not what I wanted. Plus like Phillips products better by a long shot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Tucson, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

has a lot of great features

Posted7 November 2014
its a nice size component system that does not take up a lot of room
Prosits perfect size
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Saint John, NB, Canada
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No Disc Error

Posted2 November 2014
I just received this system and played a CD in it for the first time without issue, when i wanted to play another, It showed a "No Disc" error. I tried several other CDs and MP3 discs too and I still get the error.
any suggestions?
D White
New Brunswick, Canada
Yes, I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The 15 minute standby ruins an otherwise amazing system. Sad really.

Posted25 September 2014
So, having a minor in musicology I confess I'm a bit of an 'audio snob' and won't settle for less than to have good equipment when for my music. And despite it costing pocket change in a world of speakers that can easily go into the 4 figures this system doesn't dissappoint in the least! It is very balanced and doesn't have that nodal 'woof' in the low range you see with some inexpensive systems out there. I absolutely love the sound quality and it sounds as if it were a few hundred dollars more expensive!
However this 15 minute timer thing Philips has added where the system shuts off if not actively being used is absolutely ridiculous and it's such an impediment to my use for it that I have to send it back, and I'm very disappointed to have to do so. I originally bought this to interface with my computer and act as the "cadillac of alarm clocks" as I've done with my previous microsystem for a decade...it's no good if it can't wake me because decides that it needs to shut itself off soon after I'm asleep is it! The same with working at my desk, it can't notify me of mail or anything else because it shuts off.
I don't think it's very unreasonable to allow me the small responsibility of making sure my equipment isn't powered on when it's not in use, or even giving me that option....come on guys, I love your product but without this it's almost worthless. I'd recommend it only to people that plan on having it play constantly.
Proswonderful sound quality for the money
Cons15 minute shutoff severely limits usefulness
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Montgomery, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features in a small device

Posted5 August 2014
It is a small but powerful audio system.
bluetooth has a long reach.
I really liked.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Detroit, MI, USA
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is well worth buying!

Posted20 July 2014
This little system is amazing! It has rich and powerful sound just like in the description. It sounds like its 3x's the size of what it really is with deep bass and very clear treble even with bluetooth!
Consnone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Scranton, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is one great micro system

Posted4 July 2014
this is my first micro system and I feel I made the right choice sounds great even on Bluetooth very easy to set up
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Sevierville, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hi Fi Awesomeness

Posted27 June 2014
Mini systems is great for not taking up that much space & getting that rich sound. this system does great with flying colors, even with the Bluetooth feature . Now with that said read my pros & cons to get the full picture on this product.In my opinion the cons level out more than the pros I hope to see this product with the features as I have asked for an maybe with an option of 3 way HI-FI speaker system
Prosbluetooth feature, rich bass & treble, sleek design
Conslack of usage if you lost the remote, no rca jacks, limited interface
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Syracuse, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT FEATURES, EASY TO SET UP, TAKES UP LESS SPACE

Posted26 January 2014
THIS PRODUCT WAS EASY TO SET UP AND HAS AWESOME SOUND FOR BEING SMALL AND COMPACT! I WOULD DEFINTELY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE. I WASNT SURPRISED BY THE QUALITY AS I HAVE OWNED PHILIPS PRODUCTS FOR YEARS (CD, TV AND VCR). THIS SYSTEM IS WORLDS APART FROM OTHER MICRO SYSTEMS OUT THERE THAT ARE CHEAPLY MADE AND QUALITY IS HORRIBLE. THIS SYSTEM ROCKS LITERALLY !! :)
Proseasy to set up
Consnone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice sound and size, but...

Posted13 January 2014
For a small mini system, this provides very nice sound and power, but, it would be a much better product if:
1) it provided a micro headphone jack (it doesn't have one)
2) it provided balance, bass and treble controls, instead of the digital sound pre-sets
3) it included an AM tuner with the FM
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Florida, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this system

Posted6 January 2014
I love this system its so easy to use and the sound is amazing 5 stars !!! Thank you Philips !!!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:midwest
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

CD pause does not resume where I paused it

Posted4 January 2014
I don't know--maybe it's a function of the "eco standby," but I am accustomed to pausing a CD in the middle of track 6, say, leaving for anywhere from 5 minutes to 5 days, coming back, hitting "resume," and having my CD player resume from the middle of track 6. This unit, however, will only do that until it goes into what I'm guessing is "eco standby" (after 15 minutes). At that point, it takes you back to the beginning of track #1. Well, that's just stupid, and it makes it painfully difficult to listen to audio books, which is what I bought the piece of junk for.
Prosgreat design
Consterrible engineering
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Vancouver, WA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good little system but no headphone jack

Posted26 December 2013
Bought this for my son to listen to music with his new headphones he got for Christmas. Loved that it had radio, cd, and blue tooth capabilities. Sounds great for a little system but there is no audio out jack so he can't listen with his new headphones. Very irritated I didn't notice before I bought it.
Prosgood sound
Consno headphone capability
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Raleigh, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect system for small gathering

Posted25 December 2013
Good sound quality and easy to use. Connects quickly. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Micro music system BTM2180 Bluetooth® CD, USB, FM 70W max
Customer avatar
From:Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good with a few reservations

Posted2 July 2013
The pros: the BTM2180 has very good sound and connectivity. The sound is clear and powerful. It looks good.
The cons: the remote is very poorly designed. It has no numbers to access cd tracks and radio stations directly. You have to keep pushing the forward button until you get to the desired track/radio station. Also, when in shuffle mode you can't also select repeat all: you either use shuffle or repeat. There's no headphones input on the BTM2180: what if someone wants to use them? The speakers have no protective mesh and they're likely to get damaged with daily usage. The CD player makes a strange noise when it's looking for tracks and it takes too long to jump from track to track. I've owned many CD players and this is the first time I've heard such a noise. By addressing the design flaws above, this product could be very good as opposed to average. I'll probably return the BTM2180 as soon as I find something better in the same price range.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>