Customer reviews for Philips Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling

Philips Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling

With the BDP2900, movies never looked better. Incredibly sharp images in full HD 1080p are delivered from Blu-ray discs, and DVD upscaling offers near-HD video quality.
Overall rating:
2.077 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
6
1 Star
23
11 out of 3531%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Review 1 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
Bryner
From:Utah, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 18
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bluray player

Posted6 November 2013
Works great has amazing HD picture is small and takes up little room and was very cheap on the prise.
Prosgood prise, easy to use, plays bluray disks very well, takes up very little room
Consadapter required to play netflix
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
Mister
From:Southern California
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little product. Takes up very little space.

Posted16 April 2013
Works well. Compact design. Fits well on the shelf below the TV
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
Athenszee
From:Athens, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product covers the bases in HD media

Posted16 April 2013
Product came out of box ready to work. Unfortunately a defective HDMI cable (Walmart store brand) frustrated the installation. fortunately I took a 2 pack and the second HDMI cable worked fine. Double fortunately when I returned the defective cable to Walmart, they refunded the total price. So I got the cable I'm using for free.
We use the Phillips player as our Netflix interface
Prosinterfaces netflix perfectly
Consanother remote control to keep track of.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
Marilyn46
From:Georgetown, TN 37336, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT

Posted30 January 2013
This is my first blu-ray player and I trust Philips brand in video.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
BrianQ
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

Posted21 November 2012
Great player for the price, works well and have not had any problems.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
northernfujibiker
From:Northern NY
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

affordable player

Posted15 June 2012
We've had this player for about 6 months now and we enjoy it, like the vudu service on it, never had a problem with, works every time
Prosaffordable, netflix & vudu apps
Consremote control feels cheaply made
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
King87698
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent blu-ray player

Posted16 April 2012
excellent blu-ray player. perfect size to fit as well.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
CigarGuy
From:Whitehall, PA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value and low price!

Posted5 January 2014
Picture quality is very good. Lots of features and DIVX codec a real plus.
Prosnetflix, pandora, vudu, usb
Consnone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
Vond
From:Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Just Fine For Me

Posted6 January 2013
I got this Blu Ray player over the holidays and was able to get it set up with relative ease (The hardest part being trying to find the HDMI port on my TV). I expected having to purchase an HDMI cord, as they're a little more pricey than the normal AV (Red Yellow White) cords. I wasn't overly concerned with the WiFi requiring an adapter as I don't really use Netflix. The one negative that I have found is that sometimes the drawer doesn't eject after pressing the button even several times and for that I have taken 2 stars from "Performance". Overall I would give it about a 4.5/5. It plays all of my DVDs and Blu Ray diskss without issue and aside from the drawer ejection issue, I've had no other problems. The overall average rating doesn't give this player justice. Understand that you will need to get an HDMI cord and WiFi Adapter (If you choose to utilize that aspect of it) in order to use it. Realize that it isnt the top end of devices and you wont be disappointed with it at all.
Prossmall & quiet, easy to setup, value for money spent
Consdisk drawer sticks on occasion
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
Awesome7
From:Las Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player

Posted15 September 2014
This Player id Very good and has some great features, however it does not have some features in other Philips DVD player that has them.
Pros: Plays USB Videos very well both SD and HD, I have not really played any Blu Ray discs to date and have had this plyer now for 2 years, I mainly use the USB for some Videos.
Con: An 2010 SD DVD Player I have from Philips that is great has a thing for the sound Called 3D Surround and gives you several effect options, Living Room, Arena and Church sound effect and its great, I have been unable to find this set of effects for their Blu Ray Players and I don't like this at all. The other thing I don't like is that when adjusting the colors the Tint is locked and I can not adjust the tint to my liking and their Tint setting is horrible, I do not know why they have rendered the Tint setting lock and not allow consumers to make adjustments to their liking.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
SteveA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Almost worthless.

Posted23 December 2013
I got this almost 2 years ago as a backup player. It plays DVDs fine, but keeps freezing up when I try to play a Blu-Ray. I keep hoping that a new firmware update will fix that, but so far none that have been released does.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
Khanwolfen
From:Denver, co
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheap, freezes up all the time..

Posted1 November 2013
Easy to use, but the thing has 0 memory. And freezes up all the time.. Have to unplug it, plug it back in for it to work.
Proscheap
Conswireless not included, low ram, freezes up
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
nnic
From:Raleigh, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great idea but...

Posted17 August 2013
primarily bought it for using Netflix instant view however I was a little disappointed with the search functions and one other huge problem is that sometimes when viewing content on Netflix the player makes a loud hissing sound that only stops when you power down the player! I really like the way the player is designed and the picture quality is great... you just have to sort of be patient with the bugs I mentioned.. I haven't played a disc in it as of yet.
Prosplayer has many viewing functions
Consplayer hangs and makes a loud hissing sound often
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
RayMan
From:South Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works ok for the money

Posted27 February 2013
Get what you pay for I suppose. If you have a cable provider remote, it likely does not have codes that support this unit, so I am hugely disappointed in that. The fact that wireless networking requires an adapter is also a cheap "suprise". Works ok though, so far. I've only used it for one day. GET A WARRANTY (Extended) !
Proscheap
Consno common remote codes, requires an adapter for wireless, small and easily crushable by heavier devices
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
shayshay
From:Waco, TX, USA
Gender:Female
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This Blu-ray Player does not come with an hdmi cord so you get home thinking your going to set up for movies & realize you have to go all the way

Posted25 December 2012
all the way back to the store for the hdmi cord for the player to even work
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
auditqueen
From:Wainwright, OK 74468, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

make sure to buy everything

Posted20 November 2012
I cant believe you dont even get the HDMI cable which makes the thing work how cheap is that. Now i have to go all the way back to the Store to get one.
Consno hdmi cable and you have to have to have it.
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
kms1990
From:Frankfort, IN 46041, USA
Gender:Female
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless.

Posted5 February 2014
I've had this product for 3 months now and it barely works. It freezes when we try to play Netflix with high speed internet and it freezes when we play DVD's. We were debating whether or not to get this product or a different one and we regret spending the extra money on this one. It's sad you have to unplug it every time you want it to work.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

falls short of expectations

Posted1 February 2014
this product works alright with wifi netflix and vudu, but playing dvds WILL NOT LAST!
The DVD player lasted maybe 6 months before it started messing up. Is almost been a year and it no longer read any DVD's especially Blu ray. Connecting to YouTube takes forever.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
MJ1977
From:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Keeps freezing up

Posted14 December 2013
I have this product less than a year. It keeps freezing up, and the last 2 times I have had tried to play a movie, it freezes up at opening credits. I have had to unplug it for awhile so it can reset, and I can then open it to get movie out. Now, the screen is going blank and it is freezing up.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2900 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling
Customer avatar
Kramer
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Freezes up all the time

Posted16 November 2013
Plays blu ray okay, but Netflix freezes after all the time after last update.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>