Customer reviews for Philips Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback

Philips Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback

With BDP2100, movies never looked better. Incredibly sharp images in full HD 1080p are delivered from Blu-ray discs, while DVD upscaling offers near-HD video quality.
Overall rating:
2.167 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
7
1 Star
17
10 out of 3330%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Review 1 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
skmkkk
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Distorted videos from USB devices

Posted8 November 2014
It can play videos in a variety of codecs from storage devices connected to the USB port. Unfortunately everything is scaled to fill the whole screen and videos not in a 16:9 aspect ratio will appear distorted.
I still have to hook my laptop to the TV if I want to view those videos without distortion.
Conscan't correctly play all videos.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
CoryD
From:Saint John, NB, Canada
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Player, but misleading in a few aspects...

Posted5 November 2014
Player works very well. Great picture processing.
The amount of formats it can play natively is astounding. I threw everything at it and the sound on an MOV file was it's only format that failed. Even FLV works.
I did find that it failed to respond when running an FLV I ripped from YouTube. I had to unplug the player to get it to work. I ran a couple of AVIs after and it worked and responded fine. I guess I'll avoid FLV which is fine with me.
No HDMI cable available in an age of HDMI being the norm is odd at best.
The Wireless feature was VERY misleading. I was not at all happy to find that not only did I have to buy a wireless dongle, but I would have to buy a Philips brand specific wireless dongle to get it . It would have been a nice gesture to provide one. The other sad thing as well is that it would have to occupy the USB port to which I wanted to keep my USB Thumbdrive in.
Outside of that, so far so good.
Prossmall footprint, great file format support, processes movies on usb vry well, great price
Consno builtin-in wireless, requiredto buy a philips wireless dongle, no hdmi cable provided, misleading packaging
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
blackhorizon
From:Florida, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

excellent features, but slow and unreliable netflix app and remote function

Posted23 September 2014
excellent feature set as far as upscaling 480p content, handling audio formats, and even playing divx / xvid content in .avi or .mkv format.
when controlling the netflix app however, some videos disagree with the player and they constantly stutter, and the remote functions can be very sluggish at times in both netflix and vudu.
great player as far as discs and hard drives go, vudu playback seems to work fine, but the function is not so great if you plan to use netflix alot.
i would give it 5 stars if all the apps and menus were snappy and i never had an issue with the remote getting so sluggish that its frustrating to use.
Prosnon-netflix / vudu menus are smooth, ability to play xvid / h.264 in .avi / .mkv, 480p upscaling, firmware easily updates over net via menu
Consnetflix app may stutter badly on some videos, remote functions can be very sluggish in apps
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
LAURAD42
From:MIDDLE GEORGIA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Love the philips brand, long lasting and durable products

Posted25 June 2014
I rec'd this as a birthday gift from my fianceSte'. He knew that I like philips brand products. They always last a long time. Have great pic quality too. just don't like needing a cord for ethernet. and now there is an upgrade for that but we still have to buy a wireless adapter.
Prosnice bluray player, happy to receive as my birthday gift
Consneeds ethernet cord connected
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
JazzieJ
From:Chattanooga, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great design, horrible performance

Posted19 May 2014
I like the ease of use and the design. They are both aesthetically pleasing and easy to navigate and understand. The problem is the player often doesn't work. When using the netlflix app on it it will often lock up ruining any potential experience. In addition there is a horrible lag that is involved any time you attempt to use the remote making pausing difficult especially when it is locking up. This also applies to the start up, where it will immediately choose to start the dvd if one is in it. Now this can sometimes be solved by restarting the software, but I don't think you should have to unplug a piece of electronics to have a possibility of using it properly. If I had to guess someone rushed the software without bothering to ensure quality. It is a decent dvd player, but when it comes to the apps it fails to live up to any expectations.
Proseasy to use, nice design
Consdoesn't perform the apps and locks up
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
sendyourmind
From:Huntsville, AL
Gender:Female
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

Posted4 May 2014
Like so many of the other reviews this is a poorly advertised product. Not WIFI, no cables, only plays audio on SOME titles on Netflix, slow, alphanumerical remote is a joke. Would never recommend this product and will never purchase Philips again.
Consbasically everything
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
murf
From:White River Junction, Hartford, VT, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

Posted2 May 2014
great dvd will tyell all i know to get one its a must have
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
DianeV
From:Ramsgate, Kent, UK
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is so easy to set up and use.

Posted25 January 2014
I am a women on her own and am a bit of a techno-phobe. I was so pleased that this was so easy to instal and easy to use. Every feature that I use is so clear in vision and sound and just an all round brilliant product.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
Marz
From:Putnam, CT, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Horrible experience

Posted1 January 2014
HDMI and ethernet cables NOT included. I had to go back to the store and spend an additional $18 dollars on an ethernet cable. Once hooked up to the internet I was not able to use the numeric numbers on the remote control to sign into Netflix or YouTube, so I was not able to use either of those services. Basically I was able to use it solely as a blue-ray/dvd player, but once it requires a firmware update I will have no idea how to do that, since I can see no way from the main menu in accessing an internet webpage. This really bites the big one.
Prosplays dvds well, good sound quality, nice picture
Constoo many additional cables needed to purchase, inadequate useless remote control, poor use of internet, difficulty signing into netfix & youtube, does not work wirelessly
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
Juggdj
From:Charlotte, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Blu Ray Player.....

Posted27 December 2013
Excellent Blu Ray player. I haven't hooked up the internet to it...nor do I plan to. I just wanted a Blu Ray player. It delivers the goods!! No problems...I just hope Philips will keep me in the loop about any updates if needed.
Proslooks great & sounds incredible
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
Jenn37
From:Merritt Island, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hunk of junk

Posted26 December 2013
This blu ray player doesn't come with the required cables, and will only hook into your net work with a wired connection. NOT WIRELESS! I really feel this should be clearly labeled on the box. Very annoying.......now another trip to the store to return this junk, and purchase a real blu ray player.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
displeased75
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Frequently Locks/Unresponsive

Posted25 December 2013
This device frequently locks up and becomes unresponsive, forcing me to unplug the power and plug it back in before I can use it.
The player freezes when attempting to load Blu-Ray and DVD discs. 9 times out of 10 freezes when attempting to load Netflix, forcing an entire reboot of the player. Sometimes I have to abandon any notion of using this device because reboots fail to get it working again.
This is NOT a network issue in my home as all other networked devices perform fine and retain internet connectivity when this blu-ray player locks up. I do have the most recent software update on it as well, and it is directly connected via ethernet cable.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
AprilInMichigan
From:Michigan, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

purchased this for a gift, wish i'd read the reviews first...

Posted25 December 2013
nowhere on the packaging does the product indicate that it does not come with the required cables to make it actually function. given to my parents as a christmas gift and they were very disappointed that they could not hook it up until the stores open again and they can purchase cables! i would never have assumed that it would not come with some sort of cable to hook it up out of the box. it should have AT LEAST been indicated that i would need to buy one.
Prosmaybe it will be awesome once it can be hooked up, it's not on fire, but that could be because we can't hook it up
Consdoes not come with cables to hook it up, does not tell you that you won't be able to use it, until you buy more stuff, can't watch elf, christmas is ruined
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
kr121
From:Philly
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No dongle?

Posted28 November 2013
Doesn't say it doesn't have one until you get it home. Then there is no recommendation on what to buy. I am taking it back and will never buy a Phillips product again. So lame and infuriating.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
sandandsea
From:Kayenta, AZ 86033, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad, a little disappointed with no wi-fi right out of the box.

Posted20 November 2013
I agree with some of the other reviews. The manufacturer could be more honest and list on the box what other hardware is needed for the full functionality implied on the box. I carefully read the instructions and found no information indicating I needed a USB wi-fi dongle. I had to read about it here on the reviews. I was even reading the specifications looking for directions on what was needed.
I find the Phillips answer to one of the reviews lacking in integrity as well. To tell us "oh well, you should have bought a different model" is very poor customer service. This will result in decreased trust with other Philips products. I will seek to purchase items made by a different company.
Prosi needed a dvd player. it does that well.
Conswish i knew what added hardware was needed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
BeachBum32250
From:Jacksonville, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product is terrible because of remote

Posted4 November 2013
Remote regularly fails to connect despite fresh batteries
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
JackOfHearts27
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't buy this...

Posted2 October 2013
I was actually gifted this, so I shouldn't be complaining, but I feel I should warn any prospective buyers.
As far as I could tell, none of this was on the packaging, but this does NOT come with an HDMI cable(they're inexpensive, not a dealbreaker) NOR does it come with a required USB Dongle for Wi-Fi(which is nearly as expensive as the player unless you search around).
So after purchasing the dongle, Netflix doesn't work correctly for me. Well, at least the sound. The player does not support 5.1, just stereo sound. You have to manually change the sound settings on Netflix every time you want to watch something.
Then, right when I think I might be able to use this for some time, it asks me to update it's software. Convenient, right? No, it completely bricked any internet capabilities. Wi-Fi(with it's special dongle) nor a direct ethernet connection produced any sort of connection. After a good hour with Philips support, I was informed that this was not a known problem and I was out of luck. Needless to say I will not be buying any Philips products ever again just on principle.
Prosit plays blu-rays
Cons...that's about it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
Ftaxman
From:Idaho Falls, ID, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for what I needed

Posted27 September 2013
First of all, read the manual. The disk tray opens and closes just fine if you hold the reomote button down for 4 seconds or longer. The modle I bought does not have the wi-fi or the usb port, but his was not an issue because I have a Roku box for the wifi. I bought this player so I could play Blue Ray discs. It does that great.
Everyone complains that the player does not come with a HDMI cable. I haven't seen any brand that does unless it is one of the high priced ones.
All in all a great product for the price.
Prossimple to use.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
unhappyinMO
From:Mid MO
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

box and all information provided by company misleading

Posted20 September 2013
To improve this product it should list on the box ALL the items you need to buy to make it do all the things it says on the box. We made a second trip to store for cable and will have to make additional trip to buy item to connect to internet. Why can't they list that on the box. The price is low because it doesn't include all the parts.
Consdoesn't include parts needed to make work
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from PhilipsBy NVPhilips Webcare Team22 September 2013
Hello, thank you for reaching out to us with your feedback. We’re sorry that you are not having a good experience with our BluRay player. The reason why you need to purchase an additional item for internet connection is that it does not have a built-in WiFi. All it needs is either a wired internet connection or a usb dongle to connect it to the internet. However, we would also like to inform you that we have a range of BluRay players which have built-in WiFi:
http://www.usa.philips.com/c/blu-ra...
http://www.usa.philips.com/c/blu-ra...
http://www.usa.philips.com/c/blu-ra...
http://www.usa.philips.com/c/blu-ra...
If you have further queries, please feel free to contact our Consumer Care team on the following link:
http://www.support.philips.com/supp...
Thanks.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Blu-ray Disc/ DVD player BDP2100 DivX Plus HD USB2.0 Media Link DVD video upscaling RealMedia video playback
Customer avatar
TimeTraveller
From:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good

Posted9 September 2013
The performance of the BluRay player itself is great.. I love the fact that it replays the movie after it finishes the first time. It's great for having on in the background while I'm studying. I wish it had wireless, but the USB makes it possible to make it wireless. Good Value.
Proseasy to set up, netflix adaptable
Consneed to buy hdmi cord, not wireless
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>