Customer reviews for Philips Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Philips.

Philips Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL

A close and comfortable Philips Norelco electrics shaver 6955XL/18 for an affordable price. The Reflex Action system is combined with the Super Lift & Cut technology, guaranteeing a close and comfortable shave.
Overall rating:
4.04 / 5
4
 / 
5
(150 reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 150 reviews
5 Stars
74
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
11
1 Star
9
120 out of 14881%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Review 1 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
Marvin35
From:Chapin,S.C.
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product results in a close shave.

Posted12 January 2014
The product is easy to operate,charging,and storage when not in use. It is also ease to clean after a shave.
Prosit is ease to handle, it fits the conture of the hand, it is ease to travel and pack, it is ease to keep clean
Consthe top seperates from the bottom
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
WoodyRRT
From:Indianapolis, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product at great price

Posted5 January 2014
Good razor for the price, lightweight, quiet and pretty good shave
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
notlaw
From:Mesa, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

it's okay

Posted26 December 2013
no thank you. I do not want to write anymore .I haven't use it long enough to say more. I have used other Philips shavers for years.. this one is quieter.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
Monsignor
From:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love how close it shaves

Posted23 December 2013
I am 71 years old and have had many electric razors. My new Norelco is by far.....THE BEST!
Proscloseness
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
RockII
From:Medford, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not too good

Posted22 December 2013
I did not get what I expected in use. Had to go over areas to much to look halfway clean shaven. Don't think it was good enough to be used daily. Leaves some red marks from going over and over. I thought I would like your product but maybe not. I have used other products and was ready for a change but I guess not. I might need something with more power to get a good shave. It is easy to use but dosn't do the job. Sorry.........
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Response from PhilipsBy ATPhilips WebCare team23 December 2013
Hello,
We’re sorry to hear that the Philips shaver does not meet your expectations. For best shaving results we would request you to follow the steps give below:
• Move the shaving heads over the skin, making both straight and circular movements.
• Your skin may need 2-3 weeks to get accustomed to this Philips system.
We would like to suggest that during this period, use your new Philips shaver and do not use alternate shaving methods. Alternating shaving methods makes it more difficult to adapt to the new shaving system. If above steps doesn’t help please contact our Consumer Care team. To get contact details please follow the link given below:
http://www.support.philips.com/supp...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
gcam
From:Laguna Woods
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Is quiet and efficient. I like it.

Posted21 December 2013
I have owned a Phillips razor for many years, but the batteries have given out. This model is quieter and more efficient than my previous one, and I like it.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
Jimmymh
From:Winter Springs, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gives a good close shave.

Posted17 November 2013
We always buy Norelco shavers but wish thr shaving heads lasted a little longer.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
shaver79
From:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Shaver for the price

Posted15 November 2013
The saver does an adequate job, and is light and
easy to use. It is not as sturdy as the older shaver
I had, the body of this shaver being mostlly plastic.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
Flip82
From:Michigan City, IN, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is hard to get the Head off the base

Posted13 November 2013
I like very much. but my wife like it even more it gives a fast and smooth shave .
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
Observer
From:Parrish, FL 34219, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product has poor battery life and does not hold a charge very long. The shaving heads turn at a sluggish speed.

Posted11 November 2013
This product has poor battery life and does not hold a charge very long. The shaving heads turn at a sluggish speed.
I would like to return this shaver and trade it in for another that gives the same close shave, but have the same 17 day shaving/1hr charge as my 7810XLB shaver that does not give a CLOSE shave.
I am NOT satisfied.
Prosit does give a close shave.
Consthis product does not hold a charge very long.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
Robert2b
From:Brick, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Norelco 6955xl shaver

Posted10 November 2013
A fair shaver , not built for heavy stubble. Squeaks a little, on full charge it is a little slow compared to others. Has no full charge light. A basic model.
Prosease of use
Consnot for heavy stubble squeaks slow running
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
Moosie
From:Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best and easiest to use

Posted10 November 2013
At age 91 absolutely the best I have ever used. Gives s a very comfortable shave.
Prosmy favorite
Consnone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
goody30
From:Twin Falls, ID, USA
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love the Norelco Shaver

Posted8 November 2013
I have been using the Philips brand for several years now, and I wouldn't trade for anything!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
Bobcat123
From:Midland, MI, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good shaver

Posted8 November 2013
Love the shaver it good one and love it very much and shave very good
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
Sterling222
From:Savannah, MO 64485, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great shaves

Posted4 November 2013
This razor gives close,clean shaves. This model of razor has several great features such as the pop up trimmer for use on side burns, and the floating shaving head that cuts really close without pinching skin or putting facial hair.
Prosgreat razor at a great price
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
Tatie
From:Pleasanton, TX 78064, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

light and can use anywhere

Posted31 October 2013
It pull on the beard and leave me rash away want one maybe need to try another one
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
Larry85
From:Surprise AZ USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE. A WASTE OF MONEY

Posted30 October 2013
Shaver is too slow and motor is weak even right after charging. My plug in Norelco beats this junk in every way. Too bad I didn't keep the packaging materials. Could give it as a Christmas gift to someone I dislike.
Prosthere are none
Conssee review
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
Chuck4
From:Chicago, Il.
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the price I paid, does a good job.

Posted30 October 2013
This is the third one I have had, and have been satisfied with them all. Others have better features than this one such, as ease in cleaning ,and indicator for power remaining, but otherwise otherwise very satisfied.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
BJFO
From:Bedford, NH, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works OK

Posted30 October 2013
Cheaper, noisier, runs slower than my previous Norelcos.
The on/off switch is a slide rather than a pressure on/off. I'm getting accustomed to it.
I miss the height adjustment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Norelco 6000 series Electric shaver 6955XL
Customer avatar
squaredanceman27
From:Summerfield, FL 34491, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not sure

Posted25 October 2013
It cuts great and easy except around the nose and chin. It is so quite that you can hardly hear it run. I wonder if it is running at full speed.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>