Customer reviews for Philips Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Philips.

Philips Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD

Get immersed in a thin LCD TV. Wirelessly connect to movie services: Vudu, Netflix, and Film Fresh. Access over 100 Apps from Pandora, Twitter, Facebook, and more. Surf the web, view any content from your PC on TV with Philips MediaConnect.
Overall rating:
3.809 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(84 reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 84 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
8
1 Star
8
63 out of 8277%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
Review 1 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
Customer avatar
BBQ2014
From:Kansas City, MO, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Problem plagued

Posted26 June 2014
I've had this model for almost 3 years now. Since the begging the TV shuts-off and then turns back on several times. Sometimes the screen freezes and I have to manually shut it off. I call Philips as soon as this problem occurred and they informed me it was a cable t.v. issue. I had my cable company here for many, many hours on many different days. They tell me it's the t.v. Since the t.v. isn't returnable I'm stuck with a device that I don't like. Lastly, the internet network does not connect no matter what I do.
Consreboots are frequent
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
This review is fromPhilips LCD TV 40PFL5706 102cm/40" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD.
Customer avatar
Spud
From:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unfortunately this tv has never worked well

Posted23 March 2014
I through out the packaging within the month of purchasing this product so I was unable to return it. The tv shuts off and comes back on 3 times to warm up it . Then after three times. I need to manually shut it off and on a couple more times to correct the picture and colour. If I don't perform this ritual the picture will have 3 pictures on the screen along with numerous colours. This is every time .
The picture does not come on right away. The Philips logo is the first thing in view and for several seconds before the channel appears on the screen
This tv was a gift, although I picked it out and so that is another reason why I didn't call Philips about all the issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
This review is fromPhilips LCD TV 46PFL5706 117cm/46" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD.
Customer avatar
upsetinMaine
From:Patten, ME, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

needs to be recalled and fixed

Posted20 September 2013
although it was easy to set up and get running right out of the box, we've had nothing but problems since two weeks into owning this tv that we purchase about 2 yrs ago. The tv shuts down all on it's own while you are watching it. It freezes non stop if you are using the Wi-Fi feature and our Wi-Fi router is sitting right beside the tv! We are unable to use the Netflix feature, which is the main reason we got this, as it takes way to long to load up anything and keeps freezing up on us. It take about 10 minutes just to shut off after hitting the power button. It then takes another 20 minutes to turn it back on if you are simply trying to reboot it to unfreeze it. We have been told over and over again that it's not the TV's fault, it's Netflix, yet Netflix runs just fine over the same router box, on a tv in another room that the signal has walls to go through when it won't work on this tv. Also the speakers are in the back of the tv so it's very hard to hear, unless you are the neighbors across the street cause the sounds going towards them and not you.We have gotten to the point that we've had it. We are thinking about tossing this tv and getting another one.
Proseasy to set up, nice picture
Consslow, shuts itself off in the middle of watching it!, netflix doesn't work on it, speakers are in the back so it's hard to hear
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
This review is fromPhilips LCD TV 46PFL5706 117cm/46" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD.
Customer avatar
Myhobby
From:Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It would be great if it works

Posted4 May 2013
I bought this unit to replace a 40in Samsung LCD located in my bedroom. Use it primarily for early and late news, some Netflix movies, simple stuff.
I was impressed with the specs and the prospect of easy Net access, good picture quality and my first dissapointment was the difficut access to write anithing on the net apps, using the odd screen keyboard.
No wireless standard keyboard is available even for purchase.
More dissapointed with the intermittent unknown issues that force the unit to do a full reset every unknown amount of minutes. You are watching the netflix movie, or watching the news alert and puff!!!
black screen shows and goes into a full restant out of nowhere.
Needless to say that I upgraded the firmware to the latest version that supposedly fixes this random resets and NOTHING. Still resets itself.
I do not know what else to do as it happens to many other users (watched a youtube from a dutch user that documented clearly the same problem) that suffer this "design flaw"?
I have hard time recommending this unit to a friend, until I see Philips behind its products solving the annoying flaws.
Prospicture, sound
Consit does not work as it should, resets by itself every 5 minutes, unusable keyboard input format
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
This review is fromPhilips LCD TV 40PFL5706 102cm/40" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD.
Customer avatar
InitialDrifter87
From:Morrow, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy

Posted16 April 2013
tv works well. no problems. very easy to use straight out of the box.
Prosgreat tv just what i was wanting
Consnone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
Customer avatar
Sunshine772
From:Yucaipa, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phillips HD TV

Posted16 October 2012
I love my new Phellips HD TV. I have only had it about 3 months. The only problem is that I can't get the volume high enough, unless I put it a full 100. and on some channels this is still not loud enough to be comfortable. Then of course it may be do to my hearing,,LOL. I bought the phillips sound bar and that has helped some.
Prosgreat color and clerity.
Consto me poor volume
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
Customer avatar
MrOvada
From:Cleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great TV, Great picture for price

Posted8 October 2012
great TV for the price, very easy to set up and connect to WiFi internet..... still working on getting the internet services to work.... so far I am very pleased and would recommend this to anyone looking to purchase a new TV
Proseasy set up and use, great picture
Consneed a very robust internet for streaming from pc, or wifi internet
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
Customer avatar
Jen17
From:Gibsonburg, OH 43431, USA
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the picture quality!

Posted20 September 2012
I would highly recommend this product to anyone interested in buying a new television.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
Customer avatar
jajrdh
From:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Philips 55" LCD HD TV

Posted3 September 2012
This is a very nice TV, nice design. The WiFi is what sold it for me but I couldn't get it to work until Comcast came out to help. No written manual included. I guess it's online only. There is a bit of a delay when changing channels or turning the TV on. It has a nice user friendly remote. There is a lot available in the Net TV feature, Pandora, Netflix, Facebook, You Tube and many more. It's easy to adjust the picture quality by using the remote. Overall, I would definitely recommend this TV.
Prosbuilt in wi fi, design, price, 1080p pictures
Consconnecting to media, navigating through net tv a challenge, occasional pixel problems with picture.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
Customer avatar
MrOvada
From:Cleveland
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great picture and easy to use

Posted22 August 2012
Great Product Love the TV, great price, but one of the reasons I purchased this model was the ability to connect wirelessly from a PC. After researching online and following the guides I still cannot connect (by the way, I am in the IT industry so I do have an understanding of networks and WiFi technology). It seems a lot of people are having the same issues. Also streaming movies through the built in WiFi is very slow in loading (I guess you need a robust internet connection and not the middle tier offered by DSL or Cable providers). I gave up and will use it as a TV which I am very pleased with. I would recommend this product as a TV only and if you want the streaming and WiFi capabilities I would look elsewhere.
Prosgreat tv and picture, easy to use
Conscannot connect pc by wireless, slow wifi streaming
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
Customer avatar
Rudyn3
From:Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

Posted22 August 2012
This TV was a great buy. Compared to the higher priced TV, I found picture quality was very close to more expensive screens
Prosprice
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
Customer avatar
SamsungTVFan
From:Cary, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Kind of boring

Posted21 August 2012
I took the TV back because I was sold a refurbished TV claimed to be new, but while I had it for the day I was very unimpressed with the picture quality. My 8 year old Sony rear projection has cleaner HD than this one. Sorry Philips, but I expect more from you given your extensive TV manufacturing resume.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
This review is fromPhilips LCD TV 46PFL5706 117cm/46" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD.
Customer avatar
moparman
From:us
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

Posted29 September 2012
very easy to operate, excellent picture quality,kids love it
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
This review is fromPhilips LCD TV 46PFL5706 117cm/46" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD.
Customer avatar
jtown
From:Greensburg, PA 15601, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

Posted24 September 2012
I'm very pleased with this TV and highly recommend it. The internet apps are nice and work well. The picture is great. There is great value with this product.
The wireless was a little difficult to set up at first. Perhaps it was my network. It's been working fine now that it is set up.
MediaConnect wasn't working at all at first. I think it started working after I did an update with the TV. There's a bit of a delay from computer to TV, so don't expect to use the the TV like a monitor using MediaConnect. You can buy a VGA cable and it works great that way.
I'm also disappointed with the audio out options. It only has coaxial digital audio out. Not a very common option with speakers.
Prosinternet apps, great picture, great value for the money
Conswireless a little difficult to set up, mediaconnect not very functional, only has digital audio out
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
This review is fromPhilips LCD TV 46PFL5706 117cm/46" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD.
Customer avatar
nikknakk
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

everything about this tv is great

Posted9 September 2012
except it cuts off and restarts at will. otherwise it is a great tv
Constv cuts restarts at will
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
This review is fromPhilips LCD TV 46PFL5706 117cm/46" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD.
Customer avatar
Alansr1966
From:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

Posted3 September 2012
Great product. The picture and sound are excellent. A must buy if you are looking for a great affordable t.v.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
This review is fromPhilips LCD TV 46PFL5706 117cm/46" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD.
Customer avatar
Racso
From:Frisco, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This TV has wireless conection problems. I coudn't use it. The volume is so low: to heard the TV need to be on Volume 40

Posted1 September 2012
I think I'm going to return it, because the wireless connection doesn't work. Also the volume is so slow
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
This review is fromPhilips LCD TV 46PFL5706 117cm/46" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD.
Customer avatar
wedgekev1
From:North Highlands, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome TV

Posted1 September 2012
I absolutely luv my new Phillips . The picture absolutely rocks . Smart TV is friggin great , luv the ability to stream movies . The TV coming outta the box was easy to set up . The user menu is very user friendly . My only complaint was I purchased a sound bar with my TV . upon set up of sound bar I discovered that it blocked the signal of the remote . Had to return sound bar . But I discovered that I didn't really need the sound bar , because the speakers on TV are really good . All in all I am pretty impressed with myself for picking this TV . Hurray for me .
Prospicture quality, smart tv, sound system
Consremote eye in bad spot .
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
Customer avatar
DF68
From:Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weak Wireless Receiver Slow Refresh

Posted24 June 2012
Weak receiver makes wireless connectivity for movies unusable, which was my primary reason for purchase. Wireless receiver must be much weaker than a laptop or my phone. I can only get two bars on my TV despite the TV only being 30 feet from my router. My laptop works fine from a much greater distance.
The picture on this model is fine. However, watching baseball is frustrating. TV does not refresh fast enough, so the ball is split into two images when there is a throw across the field. This is the only time I see this problem.
I would not recommend this product unless you intend to wire it to your internet connection.
Prossharp picture for movies
Consslow refresh for sports, wireless connectivity unusable
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips LCD TV 55PFL5706 140cm/55" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD
This review is fromPhilips LCD TV 46PFL5706 117cm/46" class Full HD 1080p digital TV with Pixel Precise HD.
Customer avatar
GregH
From:Hollywood, FL
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ghosting of sport images

Posted5 August 2012
Not impressed with the quality of sports/actions images. While watching live action sports (football, golf, baseball, etc.) the images are not crisp; for instance golf balls and footballs in flight are shown as multiple balls instead of a single crisp image when in 1080i. I'm hopeful that this can be improved by software updates as I have not found a config setting to make the improvement.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Response from PhilipsBy ^DJUS_SOCA15 August 2012
If you haven't already, try pressing the auto-mode button at the top left of your remote control and then press down to move it to sports. This is for high action video and should correct your problem. If you are still having problems after that, please contact customer support @ 866-771-4018
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>