Customer reviews for Philips Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer

Philips Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer

The Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 (formerly called SensoTouch 3D) features an advanced touchscreen display and Gyroflex 3D technology for a close, comfortable shave. Shaving heads follow three specialized tracks to catch every hair.
Overall rating:
4.342 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(240 reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 240 reviews
5 Stars
148
4 Stars
57
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
17
1 Star
7
205 out of 23388%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Review 201 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
SamC
From:Chesterfield MI
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best electric shaver ever

Posted9 October 2011
Easiest to use and great quality, gives great skin close shave every time in a nick of time
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 202 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Largo21
From:New York
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent electric shaver, Norelco's best so far

Posted9 October 2011
Have been using Philips Norelco for years & the Senso Touch 3D is by far the best, except that you have to charge the base & not the unit itself.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 203 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
pinky
From:Bradenton fl
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great feel in your hand

Posted9 October 2011
razor is easy to use and gives a very very close shave.It is also very easy to clean. Charging is easy and the countdown on the time you have left before another charge is great. It only takes me four to five minutes to shave. That's just great. Thanks again.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 204 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
RichA
From:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Shaving quality is Very Good, but battery life and charging could be better.

Posted9 October 2011
The shaving comfort and quality provided by the SensoTouch 3D are very good. Some areas, though, are a step down from my previous Norelco shaver. These areas for improvement include:
Battery life: My previous Norelco provided 120 minutes of shaving per charge. the SensoTouch 3D only is rated to provide 60 minutes. Further, it seems to only get 60 minutes on the first charge. Capacity degrades to 50 --> 55 minutes on subsequent charges.
Charging protocol: The requirement indicated in the manual to unplug the shaver as soon as charging is complete to avoid overcharging is inappropriate for a device with a LiON battery, especially a shaver that would typically be used in the morning or evening. The shaver should incorporate circuitry to allow the charging base to be plugged in all of the time to keep the shaver charged.
Travel: Although the shaver comes with a travel case, this only holds the shaver itself. If you will be away for morn than a week, you also need to pack the cord, wall charger, and charging stand.
Display: The SensoTouch 3D display provides much less information than my previous Norelco. Shaving time and other information should be added to the display.
Prosclose comfortable shave
Consbattery life trails off, not travel friendly, inconvenient charging protocol
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 205 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
ProShaver
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Big disappointment

Posted9 October 2011
This product is poorly engineered. It does not shave as well as previous Norelco shavers. I had the Norelco 8894 which was superior to this one in every way, including the display of the shave time, which 1290X does not have, as well as the total battery time. Also, the 1290X drops hair while shaving from the side of the compartment, which is a major inconvenience. The trimmer of the 1290X is too narrow and ineffective.
To summarize, this is an example of a product that looks cool, but is badly engineered.
Proslooks cool
Consinconvenient, does a poor job
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 206 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
rferland
From:Scottsdale, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and maintain. Shave still doesn't come close to a razor.

Posted9 October 2011
Best shave by an electric razor and most comfortable. Easy to use and very easy to clean. Still has trouble hitting certain areas of the face. I use it to save time and on weekends.dyc
Proseasy cleaning
Consstill needs to be designed to hit certain areas on
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 207 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Mark018
From:Lincoln, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shaver I have ever owned...

Posted9 October 2011
Excellent reliable shaver... Very close shave wet or dry... Long battery life and ease of use... Highly recommended!
Proslong battery life, a very close shave
Conssideburn cutter blade too thick...
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 208 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Delta
From:Vista, Ca USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic razor!

Posted9 October 2011
Previously I had always used a Braun and thought it was the best, then I bought my Norelco what a step up in performance and ease of use.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 209 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
cjhall
From:Las Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Razor ever

Posted9 October 2011
Ease of use and style jump out at you but the actual cut on my face ---smooth and sharp at the same time.
Cleaning is a breeze, run razor heads still attached under very hot water then open up the heads and rinse again, the booklet explains all this. I then rest the razor on a towel with heads open to dry.
Best razor in my life and I'm 71 with some cancer bits burned off my face and this razor is beautiful.
Prosbest shave best style best ease of use
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 210 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
chuck5
From:Rockville, MD, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

most burn-free shave I've ever had

Posted9 October 2011
By far the best and easiest shave I'v gotten in more than 50 years of shaving with an electric shaver
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 211 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
SuperSnoop
From:Boston, MA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best yet

Posted9 October 2011
I have owned numerous electric shavers over the past 20 years and for the last 6 of them have been a loyal Norelco user. I just upgraded to the 1290x and what a huge difference over the my Norelco Arcitec Shaver 1090 that I had been using for the past 18 months. I didn't need to replace my 1090 as it still works but I had spoken to many of my friends who told me what a big difference the 1290x made.
The unit has a great appearance better ergonomic feel sitting in your hand. The unit is much quieter and I feel the blades are spinning faster. The 1st shave after charging the shaver was very noticeable in how much smoother my face felt even though I had shaved 6 hours earlier.
Verdict: This was well worth the extra money I spent and I would definitely recommend this shaver to everyone.
Prosappearance, ergonomic feel, quiter motor, feels like the blades are spinning faster, unreal shave, 2.5 year warranty
Consmust remove shaver from charger after 60 minutes, a little inconvenience in opening 3 blade cases
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 212 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Buddy1157
From:Dallas, TX
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product, Great Shave!

Posted9 October 2011
Well designed and easy tu use. Great close comfortable shave. Ihave been using Norelco/Phillips razors for 30 years, they have all been good, this one is great!
Prosclose shave
Consnot the best for travel as charger is separate com
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 213 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
conrad56
From:Eugene, OR, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I realy like this razor, shaves me closer than any elec razor I have owned

Posted9 October 2011
the only thing I wonder about is how long will it last, I have had great results with the battery staying charged, I took a trip and forgot the charger , I was gone 7 weeks and did not run out of juice
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 214 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
BillBro
From:McLean, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great customer service

Posted9 October 2011
I had to exchange my first razor because of a problem. It was exchanged without question, and this second one has performed without a problem. I am very happy with it. Previously I shaved with a safety razor and it caused my face to burn in spots. It was embarrassing. The Philips gives me a good clean shave and leaves my face smooth and clean.
Prosgreat and easy to use
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 215 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
jespe2
From:Bluffton, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gives a close and comfortable shave

Posted9 October 2011
The flexibility of the 3D design allows the shaver head to float over all areas of your face resulting in a close and comfortable shave. Going back to remove stubborn whiskers is not usually required. All in all a great shave.
Prostrue floating head, close and comfortable, very comfortable to hold and manuever
Conslonger battery charge life than 60 minutes, no automatic shutoff on charger, must unplug when fully charged
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 216 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Mustangman6799
From:Kennewick
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It's not that great and way overpriced

Posted9 October 2011
I think I'm a blade guy. I bought one of these razors and it stopped working. I swapped it for another one and it wouldn't take a charge. I swapped it for another; it worked and took a charge but it has an electronic squeal when it charges. I decided to keep it because I was really getting tired of going to get new ones.
This razor works but it doesn't work well. If you have hair longer than 1/8", you're going to be shaving for a while. You will be stopping every five minutes to empty out the head because it doesn't really hold much hair. You'll be buying dental picks to use to clean the hair out if you don't empty it often enough while shaving.
All of the technology that has gone into this razor is hype and gimmick. It's a razor and a mediocre one at that. It doesn't clear your face of unwanted hair in one pass, or even two or three or four.... You must go over the same spot many times. I bought this razor to save time and in the long run, money vs. blade shaving. I should have kept the blade. (Actually, I did. I still use it sometimes after I shave with this razor)
This razor does not shave as closely as a blade. Not even close. After a very thorough shave, I feel like I shaved with a blade about 12 hours prior. If you want a close shave, use a blade. Mach 3 is what I have had the best results with.
Don't buy this razor. In fact, I've tried several electrics. Don't by any of them; they're a poor alternative to blades.
Proslooks good, they won't, display any other, cons if i don't have enough, pros to add to the list.
Conspower button gets hit while shaving, not enough room for hair shavings, gets plugged with hair, can be difficult to clean, doesn't lift flat hairs effectivly, very slow to shave, doesn't provide a close shave
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 217 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
hastwo
From:Dayton Oh
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best electric shaver that I have owned.

Posted9 October 2011
In the 40 years that I have been using a electric shaver, without question this is the best electric shaver that I have owned. The shave is exceptional and the trimmer works great.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 218 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
NorthCarolina
From:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding shave, Easy to clean, Best Phillips Shaver!

Posted9 October 2011
This Phillips Shaver is the best, it provides a close shave, is easy to clean and the trimmer does a great job. Another outstanding Phillips product that I would not hesitant to purchase!
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 219 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
stevenind
From:Indiana
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Close, smooth and fast shave

Posted9 October 2011
I have used these products for years but this latest model is the easiest to use and clean. I was concerned that you had to carry the power cord and stand for trips but the battery life is so long that if I travel 3 weeks or less I don't even think about taking the charger. The shave is so efficient that I essentially get more battery life because I do not have to shave as long each time. The product easily cleans with tap water. The blades hinge away so they are easily assessable.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 220 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
DH11
From:New Brunswick, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product has a lot of great features

Posted9 October 2011
It is an excellent shaver when it is working properly. I had some problems with the razor not charging and not turning on. Philips Norelco was excellent in fixing the problem by sending me a new one. The only other problem I see is if you do not always hold the razor in a particular way, you hand will hit the sensitive on/off button.
Prosgives a very close shave, easy to use, quick charging time
Conson/off button is very sensitive, may have some kinks in it
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
<<Previous 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 next>>