Customer reviews for Philips Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer

Philips Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer

The Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 (formerly called SensoTouch 3D) features an advanced touchscreen display and Gyroflex 3D technology for a close, comfortable shave. Shaving heads follow three specialized tracks to catch every hair.
Overall rating:
4.332 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(268 reviews) 268
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 268 reviews
5 Stars
166
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
17
1 Star
10
228 out of 26187%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Review 201 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Bond9
From:Boston, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best yet

Posted23 November 2011
This is by far the best electric shaver for the great unknown that is the neck region! Over the last 6 years I have tried the Braun 7 series, Panasonic's Arc IV series, and even Philips' own Nivea system. The Sensotouch 3D is incomparable, its performance is so effective. Does the chin/moustache area and cheeks super fast and super close - I can't feel any roughness whatsoever after shaving when passing fingers against the grain. Easily the best clean up job on the neck out of the competition. I have a lot of sensitive spots on the neck with growth in multiple directions. This shaver gets it all with 2 or 3 passes of circular motion - no redness, tenderness or stray hairs left.
The battery gauge seems a bit awkward - first 6 months or so it was giving me 74 mins (!) of shave time. Then it fell to 48 mins. I also noticed some condensation in the LCD display, which may have caused this malfunction (Note: I have abused this shaver over the past year - I leave it in the shower when not being used so it gets thoroughly dowsed with water everytime anyone takes a shower - probably not the best way to treat it)
Prosfast - does not need too many go-overs, as good as a razor when used wet on the neck
Consbattery gauge seems inaccurate
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 202 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
KCSeattle
From:Seattle, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shaver. Close and comfortable.

Posted23 October 2011
This was a present from my wife, and more than I would have lavished on myself, but it has proven to be well worth the price she paid. A very close and comfortable shaver.
Prosvery smooth and comfortable
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 203 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Tamsar
From:Park Ridge
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money

Posted21 October 2011
I've been a user of Philips electric razors for many years. The 3D razor 1290X is superior to the ones I have used before. I'm glad I bought this one.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 204 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
sinister
From:CT
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Razor

Posted20 October 2011
Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Electric razor 1290X Touch control Numeric display with GyroFlex 3D Shaver and UltraTrack Shaver Heads is a great razor. I use it not only for my face but my head as well. I don't need to use a disposable razor unless I go a few days not using this product. It will go thru the hair but takes longer and needs to be blown out more during use. The original razor I purchased stopped working for some reason after about 6 months of use and customer service was very fast in sending a new product out and shipping box to send to broken one back.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 205 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
pmrjoe
From:Grand Prairie, TX
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the design

Posted13 October 2011
Over the years, I've had many electric razors, most of the Norelco, but this senso touch is the Best razor I've owned yet.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 206 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Dan4012
From:Marysville,MI
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the design of this shaver is great

Posted12 October 2011
Great shave every time. Use it every day. I have tried other make and find your product the best
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 207 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
MOBL
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Norelco razor yet!

Posted12 October 2011
The 1290X works really good! I've owned Norelco razors for over 40 years. This is the best!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 208 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
loanranger
From:New York
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use and close shave

Posted11 October 2011
I've been using a Norelco shaver for the last 40 years. I purchase a new one about every 5 years, on general principal. they do not wear out. I usually purchase the state of the art shaver and was never disappointed. I highly recommend.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 209 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Enigma
From:Buffalo, NY
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

Posted11 October 2011
Been using norelco electric razors for 20 years and this is by far the best.
Proswet/dry/close shave
Consbattery charge could be longer
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 210 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Arth
From:NJ
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great razor

Posted10 October 2011
I've used Norelco razors for years and each new model seems better than previous models - this is no exception.
Constrimmer should be wider
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 211 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Beachcomber
From:Michigan
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissapointing. Not as good as previous model

Posted10 October 2011
Not a good as the previous model I had (and broke). Very bulky for travel since charging requires both the stand and the charger. Also doesn't remember cleaning status--if not cleaned when prompted, it doesn't remind you next time it used. Trimmer also isn't as good as that on the previous model.
Consnot good for travel
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 212 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Dom1103
From:Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall, a winner!

Posted10 October 2011
This shaver does great job, especially wet. I use it with shaving gel with excellent results. Quick and simple. The only negative is it takes awhile to get used to it on sensitive areas, like the neck; but stick with it for a couple of weeks and you'll be fine. I wish that you could attach the charger cord to the razor so that you can shave when the battery dies.
Prosquick clean shave
Consmust use on battery not directly on ac.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 213 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
ResortGuy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but could use some improvement

Posted10 October 2011
It's a good razor; I use it every day. The clipper feature is difficult to use in some areas. Other than that, i'm happy with it.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 214 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
PaulF
From:Minneapolis, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ever. Comfortable, easy to use without irritation, good battery life, a big improvement over the original model

Posted10 October 2011
wonderful, comfortable, easy to use, great battery life, I totally love it. Would endorse it for any of my friends and family.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 215 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Jimp
From:Morris Plains
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not all it is worked up to be !

Posted10 October 2011
Have to clean often, Cant get a close shave next to nose.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 216 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
joehemp
From:ny
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shave

Posted9 October 2011
excellent shave you have to use it for at least 10 days to two weeks before you can compare it to other shaving methods.
Proseast to use
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 217 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
billyr
From:bklyn
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great-no longer use blade razor

Posted9 October 2011
easy to use, get clean shave every time I use, can use numerous times before recharge
Prosuse instead of blade
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 218 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
oscar
From:Hope, Scituate, RI, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice

Posted9 October 2011
really good machine very easy to use and good price
Prosexcellent
Consnone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 219 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Smooth
From:Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Design

Posted9 October 2011
Shaves Nicely, no razor burn. Unsure about charging the battery though. I've read reviews that you cannot leave it plugged in all the time, or even go over the charge time if the counter reaches 60 minutes or the max. time. I take this with me on all my travels and there have been a couple of times that I go to use it and the battery is depleted leaving me having to scramble for an alternative at the hotel. May need a better travel lock or lock on it.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 220 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8800 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1290X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge Advanced touch-screen display with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Jaybird
From:Napa
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

Posted9 October 2011
Great shaver best I've ever owned. Great feel ,nice weight. I've owned Norelco shavers for more then 50 years this is by far the best yet. close comfortable shave.
Prosno razor burn nice feel
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<Previous 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 next>>