Customer reviews for Philips Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Philips.

Philips Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer

The Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 (formerly called SensoTouch 3D) provides the ultimate shaving experience. The Gyroflex 3D system follows every contour of your face and shaves every hair with fewer strokes with its UltraTrack heads.
Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(183 reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 183 reviews
5 Stars
101
4 Stars
57
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
9
1 Star
5
162 out of 18090%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Review 1 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
joeyp3rd
From:East Haven, CT, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terriable Design works only cordless

Posted18 June 2012
not satisfied with razor or customer service. never received rebate Cheap plastic holder to charge but no place to plug directly into razor
Prosnone
Consno place to plug into razor, charging stand made cheaply, not a good shave
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Jims1234
From:Geneseo, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not at all happy with it's performance

Posted18 June 2012
I have had your shavers before and thought this one would be much better considering it was very expensive (like 2 1/2 times) the price of a cheaper models.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Shadetree
From:Johnson City, TN, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not give a close Shave

Posted17 June 2012
This razor does not shave as close as my 17 year old Remington, I was very disappointed in a very expensive product. I would not buy or recommend this razor.
Proslooks great
Consdoes not give a close shave very poor performance
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Rsalvo1021
From:Wentzville, MO, USA
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Should have returned

Posted16 June 2012
Does not cut close enough, still have to follow with a normal razor and shaving cream.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Albinia
From:Harrisonbyrg,VA
Gender:Female
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

blunt blade

Posted16 June 2012
When I purchase it for my husband the blade was blunt. I had to order another one on amazon.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
JayJay60211
From:Middletown, CT, USA
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Blades don't last as long as expected.

Posted20 April 2013
When I first bought this razor the shave was great. Now that I have had it for about 6 months the blades have already gotten dull despite the estimated 1year replacement time. Now I dread using this razor because it irritates my skin and just pulls on the hair. Whichthe razor never did at the beginning. I would strongly recommend this product if the blades lasted longer for people like me with thicker facial hair. New blades are way too expensive to replace every 6months.
Proslong battery life, easy cleaning
Consshort blade life, irritates skin when blades dull, replacement blades are too expensive
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
cawkaw
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Over priced

Posted1 January 2013
This product leaves stray hairs and tears up your neck.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
BobP
From:Meridian, CA 95957, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It is not working well for me!

Posted17 June 2012
I have had problem shaving with electric razors before. I really like the design and ease of cleaning. The battery life is also good.
The razor just doesn't shave me close. I use it for three or four days and then I have to go back to a regular razor to get a close shave. I wonder if I am doing something wrong???
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Lightning
From:Champaign, IL
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Compared to Arcitec-POOR!

Posted17 June 2012
I have bothe the Sensi Touch and the Arcitec. I think the Arcitec is far superior. The Sensi Touch appears to be lacking power relative to Arcitec.
Your customer service folks say it's just quieter. if true (which I dobt), it gives very poor performance quietly. I don't agree it's new and uimproved. Get an Arcitec and you'll get a better shave.
PJH
Proslooks good
Consworks bad
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Otto
From:Utah
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Takes too long to shave!

Posted16 June 2012
I have to go over and over the same place. Takes way too long to shave!
Proscharges quickly.
Constoo much money for the performance.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
bullet
From:guilford ct.
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not good

Posted16 June 2012
I always thought I wanted needed an electric shaver because of the convenience--shave any where.
However I am disappointed in the fact that I have to shave every day and I can still feel growth on my face. I never get a close shave.
The trimmer does not give me a real trim.
With a rasor blade I get close shaves and trims and they last for 3-4 days.
What else can I say?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
NotHappy2012
From:Staten Island, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Razor but priced too high.

Posted16 June 2012
I found the razor to cause me to have razor burn and even nick my skin. Even after using lotion to try to prevent it from happening. I returned the razor for a refund only after 3 days of trying to use it. I thought it would really help me since I was unable to use a blade razor. Because of the issues I had I would not recommend this razor to anyone else.
Consstill caused nicks and razor burn.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Balls
From:Honolulu, HI, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good

Posted16 June 2012
My first using this type os shavers and I'm surprised the ease using it.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
katimati
From:Santa Fe, NM, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Average razor

Posted9 October 2011
I used this electric razor for 8 months in the begining I thought it was ok nothing exceptional. After months I thought that it did not live up to all the ratings and hipe made about it. So I switched back to my straight razor.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Tank63
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Like ease of cleaning

Posted10 February 2014
Good on flat surfaces of the face but not as good on curved areas along the jawline. Cleaning feature is great and the fact that you can use shaving gel is a plus.
Prosease of cleaning
Consneeds to be better along jawline
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
herm12000
From:las vegas
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I like it

Posted17 April 2013
I like it because I can watch TV while shaving. I don't like the idea that I must dispose of the whole shaver when the battery goes dead.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Blue61
From:Orlando, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Above average razor - does what it's supposed to do pretty well.

Posted20 August 2012
I have few complaints. I use the razor everyday and it works like it's supposed to. You shouldn't expect that it would shave as close as a blade (it doesn't) but it provides a comfortable, quick, and convenient shave. I'm not a big fan of the "wet" shave with the razor, but if I wanted to shave wet, I'd use a blade anyway. I do like that the wet ability allows for easy rinse - it is much easier to keep clean than those you have to brush/wipe.
Prosease of cleaning, holds charge well, quick and convenient
Consleaves whiskers under the nose, earlier shadow than blades
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
RayD
From:Asheville, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as good as older Norelcos I've owned.

Posted17 June 2012
I don't have a heavy beard, but still have to go over my growth
twice. Difficult to cut growth under nose area. Would I buy this
design product again...no
Prosgood turn around charge time.
Consdoesn't cut very well...
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
Loul
From:Greenbelt, MD, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor shaving performance

Posted16 June 2012
I do not get a close shave and have to spend additional time to get as proper shave. I will be returning to a blade shaver
Conspoor performance
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Norelco Shaver 8500 Series 8000 wet & dry electric shaver 1260X/40 UltraTrack heads GyroFlex 3D contouring system 60 min shaving, 1 hour charge with Precision trimmer
Customer avatar
JackieStubble
From:San Diego, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok, if you're in a hurry and have to shave dry

Posted16 June 2012
Bought this to help speed up my morning routine, hopefully cut down on ingrown hairs from shaving too close/hard, and save some cash in the long run by buying fewer 3-blade cartridge blades.
I have a thick beard, but can't shave with a cartridge razor everyday - hoping this would keep me looking closer to clean shaven on a daily basis without the irritation. It's ok for this purpose, but tends to miss too many spots, especially when I wait longer between shaves. SO, I end up having to make a pass with the 3-blade cartridge razor to pick up strays - or If I want anything approximating a close shave. The combination of the two is better than either alone, but as I am still using expensive 3-blade cartridges regularly, I am not saving any $ or time. I don't want to even think about replacing the blades in this thing.
Dry shaving is ok - prefer wet, but have used it dry in a pinch - would never attempt that with a cartridge.
I am now looking into buying a vintage DE - super cheap blades, and if I have to take my time I may as well pamper myself.
Prosportable, dry shave, travel
Consmisses spots in thick beards, $$$
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>