Customer reviews for Philips Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action

Philips Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action

For men who only want the very best, arcitec combines Flex & Pivot Action with the Triple-track shaving heads for a perfectly close shave, even on the neck.
Overall rating:
3.618 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
8
39 out of 5176%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Review 1 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
jayf
From:new york
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

arcitec 1060x a huge disappointment

Posted21 August 2012
This shaver does not deliver. It does not give a close shave and considering my past positive experience with Norelco Shavers, this one doesn't measure up. It also does not have a trimmer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
upsetwithpurchase
From:upper great lakes area
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The item is a joke

Posted17 June 2012
I purchased it ...I used it for a while and even changed between my old shaver and this thing. If my beard is longer it will not cut it. I used the old norelco for that then use this toy for just touch ups.
Consthis thing is like a toy, if your beard is longer it won't cut it
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
pundit617
From:Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely disappointing product

Posted30 October 2011
I have used Norelco shavers for 40 years, ever since I began shaving. This Arcitec 1060X is the worst shaver I have ever tried. It simply does not provide a smooth shave, leaving stubble every time. I am terribly disappointed, because I always considered Norelco/Philips to be the top of the line. There is no better than a 50/50 chance that I'd purchase one of your shavers again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
EdAr
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

2011 I really enjoy the Philips Norelco arcitec shaver. The three blades provide a smooth shave.

Posted16 October 2011
I really enjoy the Philips Norelco arcitec shaver. The three blades provide a smooth shave.
Prosi really enjoy the philips norelco arcitec shaver.
Consthe bad part is that the trimmer is to small and s
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
crabman
From:outer banks,nc
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I have had several norelco razors--this is the worst and cost the most

Posted11 October 2011
razor does not shave close-you have to press hard against face to get it to cut -- slots in razor head are to small if hair is to long or if hair is to coarse will not cut
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
LFLF
From:LI, NY
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

An really bad product

Posted9 October 2011
I have been a Philips customer all my life (Im 54) and my experience with this expensive product has made me consider other manufacturers. I gave the shaver to my 2 sons and both had the same low opinion. It simply doesnt provide a good shave. Rubbinbg it over my face mltiple times to get a clean shave just irritated my skin miserably.In copncept, the design seems right to reach under your chin/ neck. In practice, it fails.
Consdoesnt work
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
Barney69
From:Greensboro, NC
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product is ackward to use.

Posted17 October 2011
The trimmer is difficult to use because you cannot see what you're doing because the trimmer is hidden behind the shaver head when trimming. Also the shaving motion this model requires is ackward compared to the "old" 3-head design. Want to buy it back?
Proseasy to clean...so what...
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
whipsnade
From:Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

arctiec 1060 razor

Posted9 October 2011
I have used an electric shaver all my life as I am a senior so its been a long time. I have found norelco shavers to be the best. how ever this model is the worst norelco I have ever used. It does not get the longer hairs on the neck and some stubborn wild hairs even after many attempts. I have an old norelco with a cord that was a tenth of the price and does a better job. trimmer could also be larger.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
Murry
From:Livingston, NJ o7039
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not perform up to expectatioms of Norelco Shavers. as previously owned.

Posted9 October 2011
I had to have two older models repaired and serviced to get the expected performance of a Norelco product. Side Burn trimmer -POOR, Blades do not cut well as pevious models.
I Bought the new model with great expectaions of performance. I am sorry to report I was disappointed. The design wasa impressive but the performance was a disappontment. I have used Norelco shavers for 25 yewars. with satisfactiion.. I now have the NEW MIODEL on Display and use the older units.
Prosgreat design, weight and ease of cleaning., add a pro
Conswould likedlithium battery instead of ni-ca
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
Doug747
From:Williamsville, NY
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I paid a Premium for This Razor.

Posted18 June 2012
When I bought it I thought it would be as good as a blade. It isn't. I still have to trim up with a blade after I shave with this razor. It's not what it was cracked up to be. I don't know if they have improved the design but would be interested in seeing what they did to improve it. I would rate it a 6 or 7 out of 10. The price I paid was the most I ever paid for an electric razor. Let me know if improvments were made.
Conscost
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
Grim
From:Birmingham, AL, USA
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Light contoured design

Posted13 October 2011
The arcitec razor is the first in a line of streamlined razors offering greater flexibility and better design than the older versions. The flexible heads offer greater ability to contour to the curves of your face. It also seems to provide a clean cut with much fewer stubble catches than the older versions. Battery life lasts about 2 weeks.
One set back I have is that my softer bearded areas tend to take longer to cut and therefore, use up battery life.
Good razor.
Prosgood battery life
Consnot the best on softer beards
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
EricR12
From:Encinitas, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Relatively easy to use

Posted9 October 2011
For the first few months, it gave a close shave in a relatively short time. Then the cutting heads appeared to become dull and it takes much longer to give only an average shave. The rotary cutting heads are very expensive to replace and are not removable by the user unlike earlier models. If you do not rinse with soft or deionized water and occasionally clean with alcohol, an unpleasant smelling residue will build up on the head.
Prosrelatively easy to clean
Conshead expensive to replace
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
martinea
From:Porter Ranch, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice design with some flaws

Posted9 October 2011
Annoying charging system,especially when taking the shaver on vacation. Better to plug it directly into the shaver rather than the charging stand to charge it
Cumbersome to have to wash it out after every shave
Shave closeness is about average with other norelco shavers I have owned.
All shavers need to come with a visual display of battery charge
Prosholds a charge for almost a month of shaves
Conssee above review
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
mew30
From:NJ
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quiet, easy to use, not the closest shave but less abrasion than other shavers.

Posted9 October 2011
I've been using the Arcitec 1060x for about a year after many years using the Panasonic wet-dry shavers. It's quiet and smooth, but takes a number of passes to get a smooth shave. When I have a few days-worth of beard, it's less effective. So the bottom line is that if you prefer a smooth, less-harsh shave, it's ideal; if you're looking for a close shave, you may prefer something else.
Prossmooth quiet less abrasion than some other shave
Consnot a very close shave
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
Morris
From:Stamford, CT, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Shaver looks good but the shave you get is not that close.

Posted9 October 2011
I have had over 10 Noreklco shavers of the last many years. I have always lioved them. I like how easily the clean and how they hold their charge. I especiaklly like the shaver I got, just befor this 1060X. it had the meter which told you how much chjarge time was left. The 1060X does not.
But the real PROBLEM is the 1060x does not shave as close as any of my older ones. It looks nice, it cleans well, but just does not give as close of a shave.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
johnsonpg59
From:Noblesville, Indiana
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Doesn't quite shave all the hair on my neck

Posted17 June 2012
The battery last a long time on a charge. Ergonomically friendly. Doensn't gte all the hair on my neck.
Consdoesn't get all the hair on my neck
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
petesdragon
From:Plymouth Meeting, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice product.

Posted16 June 2012
It may take a little longer to shave but it never irritates or cuts.
Always works.
Proslong battery time
Conscost
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sleek design, very clean shave

Posted8 November 2011
The design is very sleek and is functionally strong. It gives a very clean shave.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
Witz77
From:Buffalo, NY
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A decent shave, but...

Posted12 October 2011
1. The problem with the Arcitec's head design is that it's not as easy to keep the blades sterile as with older Norelco designs where the caps & blades could be removed.
2. I replaced the entire head unit after 18 months, and the newer head occasionally detaches while I'm rinsing the blades.
Proscomfortable grip, pivoting head, good battery life
Consnorelco "spray cleaner" won't sterilize the blades, connection for the head unit may loosen over time
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Norelco arcitec Electric razor 1060X with Flex & Pivot Action
Customer avatar
RickB
From:San Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a great product

Posted11 October 2011
I love the sleekness of the shaver, the way it fits in your hand and the ease that the heads actually conform to your face - much better than other shavers I've had.
I do have a heavy beard, and in general the shave is smooth; however, after about 6 months, I do notice a decrease in the effectiveness of the heads - not as close a shave and it takes manipulation of my skin to get a close shave in some areas.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>